N-O League holds annual Foundation Dinner

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 26 June 2024 at 9:14 am

Contributed Photos – The Niagara-Orleans League celebrated its 97th year of existence for Interscholastic Athletics Monday with the holding of the annual League Foundation Dinner at the Middleport Fire Hall. The N-O Sportsmanship Coaches of the Year Award was presented to Newfane boys basketball Coach Eric Klumpp Medina girls track Coach Melissa Valley. At right Mike Talluto was presented with the Official of the Year Award by Roy-Hart Athletic Director John Grzymala. Talluto has officiated girls basketball for 45 years and girls soccer for 15 years.

The N-O Distinguished Service Award was presented to Kevin Hazel from Albion and the late Jim Cantella from Barker. At left, Albion Athletic Director Mariah LaSpina presents the award to Hazel. At right, Barker Athletic Director Rob Mucha presents the Award to Cantella’s wife Maria and son Jimmy.

The N-O Foundation Award was presented to John Jablonski who taught and coached several sports at Roy-Hart and Chris Horgan who taught at Medina and coached tennis at both Roy-Hart and Medina. At left Grzymala and Akron Athletic Director Stephen Dimitroff present the award to Jablonski. At right, Medina Athletic Director Eric Valley presents the award to Horgan.