N-O honors field hockey All-Stars

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 14 November 2015 at 12:00 am

Contributed Photos  – Champion Akron is represented on the first team of the Niagara-Orleans All League field hockey squad by this trio of Sarah Schultz, Cierra Janis and Abigail Stone.

A trio of players from champion Akron heads the first team of the annual Niagara-Orleans All-League field hockey squad.

Akron, which captured the N-O title with an 11-1 record, is represented by senior center forward Sarah Schultz, junior sweeper Cierra Janis and sophomore center halfback Abigail Stone. Janis and Stone are both repeat selections while Schultz was a second team honoree last year.

Schultz led the N-O in goals with 17 and was second in assists with 8 while Stone led the league in assists with 11 and netted 7 goals.

Barker’s first team honorees are Erika Moeller, left, and Caitlyn Mason.

Runner-up Barker is represented by the senior duo of goalie Caitlyn Mason and defender/midfielder Ericka Moeller. Mason is a repeat honoree.

Mason registered 6 shutouts in league play and shared in several other shutouts. She also had 2 goals and 3 assists while playing midfield. Moeller had 3 goals and 4 assists.

Kenmore’s Cara Clopp is shown here with Wilson honorees Rachael Cobo and Erin Boyle.

Wilson, which finished in third place also has two first team honorees in forward Rachael Cobo and defender Erin Boyle, both seniors.

Cobo, who had 8 goals and 5 assists, is a repeat selection while Boyle, who netted 4 goals, earned second team honors last fall.

Rounding out the first team are Roy-Hart junior sweeper/defender Rielly Albee, Medina senior forward Stella Russo, Newfane junior goalie Mia Ludwig and Kenmore senior goalie Cara Clopp.

Albee, who had 4 goals and 5 assists this season, and Russo are both repeat selections.

Completing the first team honorees are, from left, Roy-Hart’s Rielly Albee, Newfane’s Mia Ludwig and Medina’s Stella Russo.

Akron is represented on the second team by junior left wing Heather Cummings, senior right wing Emily Buckley and senior left midfielder Rachel Heim. Cummings was the league’s second leading goal scorer with 16.

Barker has placed the senior midfield/defender duo of Kelsie Engert and Madison Greenwald on the second team while Wilson is represented by midfielders Courtney Wheeler, a senior, and Olivia Mitchell, a sophomore.

Completing the second team are Roy-Hart junior center forward Angelina Ciarfella along with senior defenders Michaela Cardone from Medina, Lydia Gaughran from Newfane and Grace Simmons from Kenmore. Ciarfella had 7 goals and 3 assists.

N-O All-League Field Hockey Squad

First Team
Akron – Abigail Stone (So.), Cierra Janis (Jr.), Sarah Schultz (Sr.)
Barker – Caitlyn Mason (Sr.), Erika Moeller (Sr.)
Wilson – Rachael Cobo (Sr.), Erin Boyle (Sr.)
Roy-Hart – Rielly Albee (Jr.)
Newfane – Mia Ludwig (Jr.)
Kenmore – Cara Clopp (Sr.)
Medina – Stella Russo (Sr.)

Second Team
Akron – Heather Cummings (Jr.), Emily Buckley (Sr.), Rachel Heim (Sr.)
Barker – Kelsie Engert (Sr.), Madison Greenwald (Sr.)
Wilson – Courtney Wheeler (Sr.), Olivia Mitchell (So.)
Roy-Hart – Angelina Ciarfella (Jr.)
Newfane – Lydia Gaughran (Sr.)
Kenmore – Grace Simmons (Sr.)
Medina – Michaela Cardone (Sr.)

Honorable Mention
Akron – Olivia Diebel (Fr.), Sydney Leeds (Jr.), Kayleah Aldrich (Jr.), Amanda Jeziorowski (So.), Madison Krzykowski (Jr.)
Barker – Lydia Dewart (Jr.), Emma Duffy (Sr.), Erin Greenwald (Sr.), Natalie Menz (So.), Rebecca Stoloski (Sr.)
Wilson – Johanna Turvey (Jr.), Taylor Cyphert (Sr.), Taylor High (Sr.), Sara Kress (Sr.), Maddie Mocarski (So.), Alex Seeley (Jr.)
Roy-Hart – Delaney Draper (So.), Pari Shepard (Jr.), Victoria Thompson (Jr.), Shannon Dent (Jr.)
Newfane – Katie Kneeland (Sr.), Brenna Sheehan (Sr.)
Medina – Hannah Lonnen (Sr.), Guinevere Schalck (Fr.)
Kenmore – Spencer Vogt (Sr.)