N-O honors diamond All-Stars

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 17 June 2016 at 12:00 am

Photo by Mike Wertman – Seven members of the first team of the Niagara-Orleans All-League baseball squad meet here. In front are Justin Morgan (Medina), Brady Meakin (Albion) and Andy Xapsos (Roy-Hart). In back are Justin Heschke (Roy-Hart), Jared Zinkievich (Medina), Tyler Jurek (Newfane) and Holden Howland (Wilson).

Seven schools are represented on the first team of the annual Niagara-Orleans All-League baseball squad.

Roy-Hart, which compiled a 12-2 record to claim its first N-O championship since 1953, is represented by the senior duo of infielder Andy Xapsos and designated hitter Justin Heschke. Xapsos, a three-time first team honoree, hit .371 with 7 doubles, 1 home run and 14 RBIs. Heschke hit .387 with 7 doubles, 1 triple, 1 home run and 19 RBIs.

Medina placed catcher Justin Morgan and outfielder Jared Zinkievich, both seniors. Morgan hit .352 with 3 doubles and 9 RBIs. Zinkievich hit .294 with 1 double, 3 triples and 13 RBIs.

Two underclassmen, sophomore outfielder Collin Webb and junior pitcher Eddie Wasnock, represent Barker. Webb hit .353 with 4 doubles and 6 RBIs. Wasnock posted a 7-1 record on the mound with 54 strikeouts and a 0.48 era.

Contributed Photo – Barker’s Eddie Wasnock and Collin Webb.

Wilson also placed two players, senior first baseman Holden Howland and sophomore pitcher John Bender.

Albion is represented by senior infielder Brady Meakin who hit .388 with 7 doubles, 1 triple and 12 RBIs. On the mound he went 6-0 with 65 strikeouts and a 0.80 era.

Rounding out the first team selections are Newfane senior infielder Tyler Jurek and CSAT senior outfielder Juan Verdejo.

Roy-Hart placed four players on the second team including senior outfielder Ben Maynard, sophomore infielder Al Xapsos, junior pitcher Cam Meadows and senior designated hitter Eric Fitch.

Albion likewise has a quartet of second team selections including freshman first baseman Bryce Pritchard, senior pitcher Evan Pappalardo, senior infielder Jason Downs and senior utility player Randy Eblacker.

Contributed Photo – Wilson’s John Bender and CSAT’s Juan Verdejo.

CSAT has a trio of honorees including outfielder Jose Jimenez, infielder J.P. Henry and pitcher Leo Perdomo, all juniors.

The second team also includes Wilson senior outfielder Nick Pawlak and Akron senior catcher Jon Nowakowski.

The Honorable Mention selections include senior Kyle Smith from Albion, senior Brad Wilson from Barker, senior Savio Serrano from CSAT, seniors Brad McPherson and Tyler Ames from Medina, junior Kyle Jurek from Newfane, freshman Charlie Bruning from Roy-Hart and junior Jonah Miller and freshman Jackson Rotellella from Wilson.