N-O honors boys All-League soccer team

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 7 November 2017 at 10:02 am

Contributed Photos – Champion Newfane’s first team Niagara-Orleans All-League honorees include Jarrett Gilson, Mateo May, Trevor Morelans and Max Weber.

Four players from champion Newfane head the first team of the annual Niagara-Orleans All-League boys soccer squad.

The Panthers quartet includes senior forward Trevor Moreland, senior midfielder Mateo May, junior midfielder Jarrett Gilson and senior defender Max Weber.

Moreland, a four-time first team honoree, had 26 goals and 26 assists this season. May, a repeat selection, had 22 goals and 14 assists. Gilson had 13 goals and 7 assists and Weber 4 goals and 10 assists.

Wilson’s first team honorees include Matt Couturier, Cesar Carlin and Alex Chiappone.

Runner-up Wilson has placed a trio of players on the first team including senior forward Cesar Carlin, junior midfielder Alex Chiappone and senior defender Matt Couturier.

Carlin, a four-time first team selection, had 7 goals and 6 assists while Chiappone hard 6 goals and 7 assists and Couturier 3 goals and 2 assists.

Roy-Hart has placed the senior duo of forward Jamasen Johnson and defender Andrew Srock on the first team.

Albion is represented on the first team by Preston Flugel and Medina/Lyndonville by Ethan Leonard.

Jamasen, a repeat honoree, had 13 goals and 6 assists and Srock 2 goals and 2 assists.

Rounding out the first team are Albion senior defender Preston Flugel, Medina/Lyndonville senior midfielder Ethan Leonard and Akron senior goalie Marcis Kenline.

Leonard, a repeat honoree, had 4 goals and 8 assists, Flugel 1 goal and 3 assists and Kenline, who is also a repeat selection, made 196 saves.

Albion had a trio of second team honorees including junior forwards Kendyll Hadick (10 goals, 6 assists) and Spencer Lombard (7g, 4a) and senior midfielder Noah Goudreau (4g, 7a).

Roy-Hart has placed Jamasen Johnson and Andrew Srock and Akron Marcus Kenline

Akron likewise had three second team selections including senior forward Ethan Martin (7g, 3a), junior midfielder Micah Suckow (4g, 8a) and senior defender Wyatt Martin).

Wilson is represented by the duo of senior midfielder MacGregor Musall and junior defender Ralph Grizanti.

Roy-Hart has placed the senior duo of midfielder Noah Kindron (8g, 1a) and goalie Kodey Hayes (74 saves).

The second team also included Newfane seminar defender Nick Connolly and Medina/Lyndonville junior defender Matt Hess (3g, 3a).

The Honorable Mention players includes, by school:

Newfane – Trevor Heschke (Fr.), Kyle Jurek (Sr.), James DeBiase (Sr.) and Cam Stanton (Sr.).

Wilson – Mason Secor (Sr.), Jacob Miller (Jr.) and Kyle Lyon (Sr.).

Roy-Hart – Patrick Sheelar (Sr.), Aidan Bligh (Fr.) and Tyler Choate (Sr.).

Albion – Devin Gaylord (Sr.), Nate Smith (Sr.) and Nate Scanlon (Jr.).