N-O honors All-League tennis team

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 17 June 2018 at 9:19 am

Photos by Cheryl Wertman – Roy-Hart’s first team honorees Patrick Sheelar and Madigan Lang.

Albion’s first team All League honorees Victor Benjovsky and Matthew Kovaleski.

Albion, Medina and Roy-Hart have each placed two players on the first team of the annual Niagara-Orleans All-League tennis squad.

The first and second singles duo of junior Matthew Kovaleski and Victor Benjovsky represent Albion.

Medina likewise placed its first two singles players in senior Andrew Fuller and junior Pay Paull  as did Roy-Hart in seniors Patrick Sheelar and Madigan Lang.

Medina’s first team representatives Andrew Fuller and Ray Paull.

Kovaleski and Sheelar are both repeat first team honorees.

Interestingly, Akron, which captured its first N-O title with a near perfect 11-1 record, has only one first team selection, junior Nate Chubb. The Tigers first singles player, Chubb, who earned the N-O Player of the Year honor, is now a three-time first team selection.

Rounding out the first team are Newfane junior Danny Dy and Wilson eighth grader Joey Moote.

Akron led the way on the second team with four honorees including seniors Brandon Meek and Skyler Earle, sophomore Morgan Wdowka and eighth grader Will Chubb.

The second team honorees also include Medina senior Toby Kiebala, Roy-Hart senior Evan Birkemeier, Wilson senior Kyle Lyon, Barker junior Zander Israel and Newfane junior James Leibring.

Albion had a trio of Honorable Mention selections including seniors Hailey Bader and Elliot Neidert and eighth grader Carson Bader.

Medina also had three Honorable Mentions players including Cody Leno, Andrew Houseman and Haylee Seefeldt, all juniors.

Completing the Honorable Mention list are juniors Mia Olear and Jacob Hecko from Wilson, senior Zach Lundy and sophomore Matt Pusateri from Newfane, senior Maggie Leeds and sophomore Harry Fitzgerald from Akron, junior Chris Young and sophomore Jacob Harris from Barker and junior Mason Collins from Roy-Hart.