N-O honors All League tennis team

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 11 June 2022 at 8:52 am

Photo by Cheryl Wertman –  Albion’s duo of Leo Bolton and Carson Bader have earned first team N-O All-League tennis honors.

Six repeat selections head the first team of the Niagara-Orleans All-League tennis squad.

Senior Will Chubb and junior Caleb Suckow from four-time defending champion Akron head that large repeat contingent. That group also includes Wilson’s Joey Moote, Albion’s Carson Bader, Barker’s Nathan Meza Ray and Newfane’s Connor Gunby, all seniors.

Rounding out the first team are Akron seniors Sean Brennan and Sean Shaughnessy and Albion freshman Leo Bolton who were all second team honorees last year.

Earning second team honors are Medina senior Joe Lederhouse, Barker senior Willard Nellist and junior Matt Ryan, Roy-Hart senior Nik Gutierrez, Wilson seniors Evan McKinney and Connor Seider along with the Newfane trio of senior Ty Williams, sophomore Luke Gunby and freshman Miles Czekaj.

The Honorable Mention selections are as follows listed by school:

Akron – Will Akin (Jr.), Morgan Towson (Jr.) and freshman Samantha Niescier (Fr.)

Albion – James Beach (Sr.) and Charley London (Sr.)

Barker – Cameron Kiner (Sr.), Kevin Hadsell Jr. (Sr.) and Aidan Mescall (So.)

Newfane – Trevor Lange (Sr.) and Sarah Leibring (Sr.)

Roy-Hart – Jacob Hagen (Sr.), Chelsea Gutierrez (Sr.), Alex Stern (Jr.) and Sophea Allee (So.)

Wilson – Cassidy Wagner (Jr.) and Aubriana Cristiano (So.)