N-O honors All-League tennis team

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 28 June 2021 at 8:44 am

All seven schools are represented on the first team of the annual Niagara-Orleans All-League tennis squad.

Akron, which posted a 12-0 record to capture a third straight N-O title, is represented by junior Will Chubb and sophomore Caleb Suckow. Chubb, a repeat honoree, has been named N-O Player of the Year,

Newfane has also placed two players, senior Sam Capen and junior Conner Gunby.

Rounding out the underclassmen dominated first team are Wilson’s Joey Moote, Albion’s Carson Bader, Barker’s Nate Meza Ray, Roy-Hart’s Nik Gutierrez and Medina’s Joe Lederhouse, all juniors. Moote is a three-time first team honoree.

Akron has placed three players on the second team including juniors Sean Brennan and Sean O’Shannessey and eighth grader Sam Nierscier.

The second team also includes seniors Mya Quinn and Cecelia Santos from Roy-Hart, senior Sam Gergal and junior Evan McKinney from Wilson, eighth grader Leo Bolton from Albion and senior Ella Gooding from Barker.

The Honorable Mention selections include senior Kaly Lin and sophomore Morgan Towlson from Akron, junior Tyler Seider and freshman Abriana Christiano from Wilson, junior Marissa Scott from Roy-Hart, senior Keith Robison from Barker, senior Josh DePoty from Albion, freshman Luke Gunby from Newfane and senior Makayla Heideman from Medina.