N-O honors All-League tennis squad

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 11 June 2019 at 10:16 am

Contributed Photos – Akron’s Nate Chubb and Will Chubb

Five schools are represented on the first team of the annual Niagara-Orleans All-League tennis squad.

Undefeated (12-0) champion Akron is represented by the brother duo of senior Nate Chubb and freshman Will Chubb who manned the first two singles positions for the Tigers. Nate Chubb is a four time first team honoree. The title is the second in a row for the Tigers.

Medina, which finished in the runner-up spot at 8-4, has placed the senior duo of Ray Paull and Haylee Seefeldt. Paull, who played first singles for the Mustangs, is a repeat first team selection.

Medina’s Haylee Seefeldt and Ray Paull

Albion likewise is represented by two players, senior Matt Kovaleski and freshman Carson Bader. Kovaleski is a three-time first team selection.

Rounding out the first team are Newfane seniors Danny Dy and James Leibring and Wilson freshman Joey Moote. Dy and Moote are both repeat first team honorees.

Roy-Hart led the way on the second team with five selections including seniors Cameron VanBuren and Mike Kuchey, juniors Colin Dodge and Jason Kuchey and sophomore Dominic Peracciny.


Albion’s Carson Bader and Matt Kovaleski

Medina is represented by the senior duo of Kody Leno and Andrew Houseman.

Completing the second team are Akron’s Morgan Wdowski and Wilson’s Nate Jaques, both juniors.

The Honorable Mention selections, listed by school, are as follows:

Akron – Micah Suckow (Sr.,) and Harry Fitzgerald (Jr.)

Barker – David Newton (Jr.)

Medina –  Jonathan Pietrafesa (Sr.), Ben Zakes (Jr.) and Carter Green (Soph.)

Newfane – Noah Everett (Sr.) Caitlyn Clack (Sr.), Abby Sapecky (Sr.) and Braden Serth (Jr.).

Roy-Hart – Aspen Moore (Sr.) and Kayla Hagen (Jr.)

Wilson – Cal Seeley (Sr.) and Jacob Hecko (Jr.)

Final N-O Standings: Akron 12-0, Medina 9-3, Roy-Hart 8-4, Wilson 6-6, Newfane 4-8, Albion 3-9, Barker 0-12.

Wilson’s Joey Moote along with Newfane’s James Leibring and Danny Dy.