N-O honors All-League netters

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 13 June 2016 at 12:00 am

Photo by Mike Wertman – Champion Medina’s first team All-League tennis honorees are Tristan Sanders, left and Kristian Snyder.

The top four finishing teams have each placed at least two players on the first team of the annual Niagara-Orleans All-League tennis squad.

Medina, which captured the N-O championship for the fourth time in the last five years with an 11-1 record, is represented by junior Kristian Snyder and senior Tristan Sanders. Snyder, who manned the first singles position for the Mustangs, is a three-time first team honoree. Sanders played second singles.

Albion, which finished in the runner-up spot at 10-2, is represented by the senior singles trio of Daniel Beam, Josh Metzler and Dylan Bader.

Contributed Photo – Albion’s All-League honorees include Daniel Beam, Dylan Bader and Josh Metzler.

Akron, which finished in third place at 9-3 has placed senior Ryan Meek and freshman Nate Chubb.

Rounding out the first team are junior Joey Hecko and sophomore Kyle Lyon from Wilson which finished in fourth place at 6-6.

Medina also placed two players on the second team, Michael Cardone and Kyla Leno, both juniors.

Albion is also represented by two players, junior Emilie Barleben and freshman Matt Kovaleski.

Newfane leads the second team with three selections including senior Cameron Seib and juniors Jacob Koithan and Jeremy Ribbeck.

Rounding out the second team are Barker junior Nick Fazzolari and Roy-Hart sophomore Patrick Sheelar.

Contributed photos – Akron’s first team honorees are Ryan Meek and Nate Chubb.

The Honorable Mention honorees include: junior Nick Bogan and freshman Ray Paull from Medina; senior Matt Flanagan and sophomore Victory Benjovsky from Albion; juniors Elliot Spitzer and Angelina Ciarfella from Roy-Hart; seniors Gabe Curcione and Kallie Olear from Wilson; sophomore Andrew Jenks from Barker, senior Terrell Atkins from Newfane and sophomore Brandon Meek from Akron.

Contributed Photos – Wilson’s first team selections are Joey Hecko, left, and Kyle Lyon.