N-O honors All-League field hockey team

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 7 November 2016 at 5:57 pm

Contributed Photos – Akron’s first team Niagara-Orleans All-League honorees include, from left, Amanda Jeziorowski, Abby Stone and Heather Cummings.

All seven schools are represented on the first team of the annual Niagara-Orleans All-League field hockey squad.

Undefeated (12-0) champion Akron leads the way with a trio of honorees including junior midfielder Abby Stone, senior winger Heather Cummings and junior halfback Amanda Jeziorowski.

Runner-up Barker (9-3) is represented by the senior midfield duo of Lydia Dewart and Grayce Weller.

Third place finisher Wilson (8-4) likewise has two representatives in senior defender Erin Boyle and junior midfielder Olivia Mitchell.

Rounding out the first team are Roy-Hart senior forward Angelina Ciarfella, Newfane senior goalie Mia Ludwig, Kenmore senior forward Britney Waite and Medina sophomore midfielder Guinevere Schalck.


Roy-Hart’s Angelina Ciarfella, left, and Medina’s Guinevere Schalck.

Stone, a three-time first team honoree, scored 13 goals this season while Cummings led the Lady Tigers with 17 tallies.

Dewart had 5 goals and 2 assists and Weller 2 goals and 2 assists for Barker.

Boyle, who is a repeat honoree, had 5 goals and 2 assists and Mitchell, a second team selection last year, 4 goals and 5 assists for Wilson.

Ciarfella, a second team honoree last year, had 7 goals and 5 assists for Roy-Hart,

Ludwig, a repeat first team selection, made 246 saves this season or the Lady Panthers and had a goals against average of 2.66.

Akron likewise had three second team selections including senior midfielder Kayleah Aldrich, sophomore halfback Olivia Diebel and senior sweeper Cierra Janis.

Barker is represented on the second team by senior midfielder Emily Annable and junior midfielder Casey A’Hearn.

Wilson has placed senior midfielder JoJo Turvey and junior forward Maddie Mocarski.

Completing the second team are Roy-Hart sophomore forward Alexis Lovewell, Newfane senior midfielder Caitlin Chunco, Kenmore senior forward Emma Botham and Medina freshman midfielder Lacey Kenward.


Barker’s Lydia Dewart and Grayce Weller and Kenmore’s Britney Waite.

The honorable mention selections (by school) include:

Akron – Hannah Cummings (Sr.), Kaitlyn Gaik (Sr.), Sydney Leeds (Sr.)

Barker – Katrina Clare (Fr.), Ciara Gregoire (Fr.), Natalie Menz (Jr.), Jillian Moeller (Jr.)

Wilson – Alex Seeley (Sr.), Emilee Muoio (Fr.)

Roy-Hart – Rielly Albee (Sr.), Pari Shepard (Sr.), Shannon Dent (Sr.)

Newfane – Anne Judd (Jr.), Cassidy Geise (Sr.), Jennifer Killion (Sr.)

Kenmore – Nina Stockman (Jr.), Hannah Munley (So.), Hannah Greidanus (Sr.)

Medina – Alissa Blount (So.), Grace Flores (Jr.)


Wilson’s Olivia Mitchell and Erin Boyle and Newfane’s Mia Ludwig.