N-O honors All-League basketball squad

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 10 March 2020 at 4:54 pm

Photos by Cheryl Wertman – First team All-League honorees include Nate Sherman (Medina), Deyonci Farley (Albion) and Garrett Srock (Newfane).

Five schools are represented on the first team of the annual Niagara-Orleans All-League boys basketball squad.

That quintet includes Albion’s Deyonci Farley, Medina’s Nate Sherman, Newfane’s Garrett Srock, Akron’s Adam Mietz and Wilson’s Luke Bradley.  All are seniors except Mietz who is a junior.

Contributed Photos – Completing the first team are Adam Mietz (Akron) and Luke Bradley (Wilson)

Farley, a repeat first team honoree, led Albion in both scoring with 308 points (14.0 average) and rebounding with 187. He also had 72 steals, 34 assists and 18 blocks.

Sherman likewise led Medina in both scoring with 301 points (17.7 ave.) and rebounding with 167.

Srock, who has been named N-O Player of the Year, averaged a double-double leading the Panthers in both scoring with 379 points (17.0 ave.) and rebounding with 240 (10.4 ave.). He also had 46 assists, 36 steals and 23 blocks.

Mietz scored 310 points (14.8 ave.) and had 79 rebounds, 69 steals and 54 assists.

Bradley scored 298 points (13.5 ave.).

Newfane,which shared the N-O title with Albion at 9-3, has placed two players on the second team in senior Josh Everett and junior Sam Capen.

The second team also includes Albion senior Kevin Hillman, Medina junior Tyler Chinn and Roy-Hart junior Tom Ragonese.

The following players, listed by school, have earned Honorable Mention:

Akron – Mitchell Holtz (Jr.), Gage Willis (Sr.) and Jake Mazza (Jr.)

Albion – Liam Ward (Sr.), Bailey Blanchard (Jr.)

Barker – Joey Brandt (Jr.)

Medina – Brian Fry (Jr.) and Jarin Rhim (So.)

Newfane – Connor MacEvoy (Sr.) and Michael Carmer (Jr.)

Roy-Hart – Reed Albee (Sr.), Rhett Goodwin (Jr.) and Gavyn Boyle (So.)

Wilson – Alex Martinez (Sr.), Brayden Thompson (Sr.) and Mike Miller (Jr.)