N-O All-League volleyball team selected

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 10 November 2017 at 9:36 am

Photos by Cheryl Wertman – Roy-Hart’s Aspen Moore and Medina’s Je’ne Brown have earned spots on the first team of the Niagara-Orleans All-League volleyball squad.

A trio of players from undefeated (10-0) Akron head the first team of the annual Niagara-Orleans All-League volleyball squad.

Akron, which has captured the N-O crown the last two years in a row, is represented by senior setter Neely Abrams along with outside hitter Darion Jonathan and middle/outside hitter Helena Hill, both juniors.

Contributed Photos – Champion Akron is represented by the trio of Neely Abrams, Darion Jonathan and Helena Hill.

Jonathan, a repeat selection, had 283 kills, 243 digs, 56 aces and 3 blocks on the season while Hill had 180 kills, 103 digs, 48 aces and 37 blocks and Abrams 56 kills, 225 digs, 40 aces and 525 assists.

Completing the first team are Medina junior middle blocker Je’ne Brown,  Roy-Hart junior middle blocker Aspen Moore and Wilson senior outside hitter Raechel Blasius

Brown had a school record 246 kills and now ranks fourth on the Mustangs all-time list in both kills with 465 and blocks with 77.

Contributed Photo – Raechel Blasius, Wilson

Moore had 230 hill, 70 blocks, 31 aces and 153 digs while Blasius had 59 kill, 33 aces and 138 digs.

Medina is represented on the second team by the duo of senior setter Grace Masse and junior outside hitter Maddie Williams.

Rounding out the second team are Albion junior middle blocker Haley Smith, Roy-Hart senior outside hitter Olivia Vorholzer, Newfane junior outside hitter Faith Morgan and Wilson sophomore middle blocker Isabel Dinse.

A quartet of players also received Honorable Mention including Medina senior Libero/outside hitter Alyssa Beyer, Roy-Hart senior outside hitter Skyler Christopher, Newfane senior middle blocker Erin Harrington and Wilson senior Libero Jenny Meyers.