Annual Niagara-Orleans All League field hockey first team has the accent on youth

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 15 November 2021 at 3:17 pm

Contributed Photos – Akron’s first team honorees, from left, Lacey Berghorn, Madison Brege and Jenelle Kieffer.

Underclassmen dominate the first team of the annual Niagara-Orleans All-League field hockey team which is composed of five juniors, four seniors, one sophomore and one freshman.

Champion Akron leads the way with three first team honorees including senior Jenelle Kieffer and juniors Lacey Berghorn and Madison Brege who has been named N-O Player of the Year. All three are repeat selections.

Medina’s first team honorees Dakota Alexander, left, and Iyla Lilleby.

Berghorn scored a league high 40 goals, Kieffer 15 and Brege 7.

Barker is represented by the junior duo of Mia Herman and Ashlin Cole, who is a repeat honoree. Herman had 9 goals and 5 assists.

Medina has placed senior Dakota Alexander and sophomore Iyla Lilleby who had 23 goals and 8 assists.

Rounding out the first team are Roy-Hart senior Claire Halstead, Newfane freshman Kyra Austin, Wilson senior Kirsten Day and Kenmore junior Genevieve Mucitelli.

Akron likewise leads the second team honorees with a trio of selections including Laicy Karczewski, Emerson Polkowski and Alexandra Roland who are all seniors.

Genevieve Mucitelli, Kenmore and Kirsten Day, Wilson.

Barker has placed juniors Aaliyah Wheat and Alexis Weeks.

Medina is represented by junior Lydia Fox and eighth grader Penelope Schalck.

Completing the second team are Roy-Hart junior Cheyenne Stilwell, Wilson sophomore Natalie Rossi and Kenmore junior Alannah Smith.

The Honorable Mention selections, listed by school, are as follows:

Akron – Olivia McClaine, Isabella Jones and Sophia Jones

Barker – Lily Monthony

Kenmore – Izzy Bourgeault

Medina – Arianna Bloom, Emma Wagner and Adeline Castricone

Roy-Hart – Justine Laverty and Lorna Becker

Barker’s Ashlin Cole and Mia Herman and Roy-Hart’s Claire Halstead.