Niagara-Orleans All-League diamond squad has five repeat first team honorees

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 22 June 2018 at 9:00 am

Photos by Cheryl Wertman – Medina’s first team All-League honoree Brett Riemer, left, is shown here with Roy-Hart’s duo of Jake Bruning, center, and Al Xapsos.

Five repeat selections head the first team of the annual Niagara-Orleans All-League baseball squad.

That returning quintet includes champion Roy-Hart’s senior duo of outfielder Jake Bruning and shortstop Al Xapsos along with Medina senior utility player Brett Riemer, Albion sophomore catcher Liam Ward and Wilson senior infielder John Bender.

Bruning was named the N-O League’s Player of the Year.

Albion is also represented on the first team by junior pitcher Thomas Furmanski and junior first baseman Bryce Pritchard.

Akron also has a trio of first team honorees including junior pitcher Brandon Orr, senior infielder Derek Holtz and senior outfielder Jacob Cummings.

Completing the first team is Wilson junior outfielder Ian Evans.

Photo by Mike Wertman – Albion’s first team All-League trio includes, from left, Thomas Furmanski, Bryce Pritchard and Liam Ward.

Bruning hit .438 with 9 doubles, 2 triples and 20 RBIs while Xapsos hit .427 with 8 doubles 4 triples and 20 RBIs. Bruning also went 6-0 on the mind with 83 strikeouts and a 1.51 era.

Riemer hit .321 with 19 RBIs.

Ward hit .435 with 5 doubles, 3 triples and 18 RBIs; Pritchard .352 with 3 doubles, 3 triples, 2 home runs and 21 RBIs and Furmanski .292 with 5 doubles, 3 triples and 18 RBIs. On the mound, Furmanski went 4-2 with 50 strikeouts and a 2.58 era.

Cummings hit .464 with 2 doubles, 1 triple and 13 RBIs; Orr .380 with 5 doubles and 9 RBIs and Holtz .392 with 1 triple and 15 RBIs. On the mound, Orr went 6-3 with a 1.17 era and 63 strikeouts.

Bender hit .412 with 6 doubles, 1 triple 1 home run and 11 RBIs and Evans .372 with 4 doubles and 12 RBIs. Bender also posted a 2.65 era with 50 strikeouts on the mound while Evans had a 1.14 era and 45 strikeouts.

Contributed Photos – Akron’s trio of first team selections includes, from left, Jacob Cummings, Derek Holtz and Brandon Orr.

The second team honorees, listed by school, includes:

Medina – sophomore pitcher Trevor Luthart, sophomore catcher Chris Goyette, freshman infielder Brian Fry and freshman infielder AJ Seefeldt.

Newfane – sophomore pitcher Garrett Srock and junior infielder Matt DiTullio.

Roy-Hart – junior first baseman Charlie Bruning, senior infielder Ben Schwab and eighth grader catcher Gavyn Boyle.

Barker – senior outfielder Collin Webb and junior utility player Preston Harris.

Wilson – senior outfielder Tanner Feeley.

Photos by Cheryl Wertman – Wilson is represented on the first team by John Bender, left, and Ian Evans.

The Honorable Mention selections, listed by school, includes:

Medina freshman Matt Saj and sophomore Nate Sherman

Newfane – freshman Cade Littman

Roy-Hart – juniors Charlie Brigham and Walker Samanka

Wilson – seniors Nate Fox and Nick Streuber and junior Jackson Rotella