Mustangs quartet tops N-O All-League team

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 18 June 2019 at 8:37 am

Photo by  Cheryl Wertman – Representing Medina on the first team of the Niagara-Orleans All-League team are, from left, Brian Fry, Trevor Luthart, Nate Sherman and AJ Seefeldt.

Four players from champion Medina head the first team of the annual Niagara-Orleans All-League baseball team.

That underclassmen quartet includes junior pitcher Trevor Luthart and junior center fielder Nate Sherman along with the sophomore middle infield combination of shortstop Brian Fry and second baseman AJ Seefeldt.

Overall on the season Luthart posted a 10-1 record on the mound with 100 strikeouts in 73 innings of work and an earned run average of 0.96. At the plate he hit .262 with 2 doubles, 1 triple, 1 home ru and 19 RBI.

Fry led the Mustangs at the plate hitting .514 with 13 doubles, 6 triples,4 home runs and 31 RBI.

Seefeldt, who hit .481 with 12 doubles, 1 triple and 1 home run led the Mustangs in runs batted in with 42.

Sherman hit .333 with 2 doubles, 2 triples, 2 home runs and 28 RBI.

Photos by Cheryl Wertman – Albion is represented by Thomas Furmanski, left, and Liam Ward.

Albion placed the junior battery of pitcher Thomas Furmanski and catcher Liam Ward. Both are repeat first team honorees.

On the mound, Furmanski had 5 wins and 2 saves in N-O action with a 0.88 era. At the plate he hit .303 with 7 doubles, 1 triple, 1 home run and 15 RBI.

Ward hit .375 with 9 doubles, 3 triples, 1 home run and 15 RBI.

Roy-Hart has placed senior first baseman Charlie Bruning and freshman outfielder Gavyn Boyle.

Bruning, who was named N-O Player of the Year, hit .421 with 4 doubles, 7 triples, 3 home runs and 6 RBI. On the mound, he had 5 wins and 2 saves with 54 strikeouts in 39 innings and  1.79 era.

Boyle hit .333 with 6 RBI.

Contributed Photos – Roy-Hart’s first team honorees are Charlie Bruning, left, and Gavyn Boyle.

Akron is represented by senior infielder Brandon Orr, who is a repeat honoree, and sophomore utility player/DH Mitchell Holtz.

Orr hit .438 with 2 doubles, 2 triples, 2 home runs and 18 RBI.

Holtz hit .321 with 6 doubles and 13 RBI. On the mound he went 4-0 with a 1.24 era.

Rounding out the first team is Newfane junior outfielder David Bunn.

Medina is represented on the second team by junior infielder/pitcher Chris Goyettte; Albion by senior first baseman Isaiah Callicutt and senior infielder Bryce Pritchard and Roy-Hart by sophomore catcher Noah Hardy.

Completing the second team are senior pitcher Ian Evans and senior utility player/DH Steven Frerichs from Wilson, junior pitcher Garrett Srock and senior outfielder Matt DiTullio from Newfane, senior infielder Preston Harris from Barker and sophomore outfielder Jacob Mazza and senior outfielder Jake Siska from Akron.

The Honorable Menton selections, listed by school, are as follows:

Akron – Adam Mietz (soph.) and Dylan Krzykowski (sr.)

Albion – Vincent Zona (sr.)

Newfane – Hunter Jurek (soph. and Tyler Oudette (soph.)

Medina – Joe Cecchini (fr.), Austin Mosher (soph.) and Zach Fike (fr.)

Roy-Hart – Charlie Brigham (sr.) and Walker Samanka (sr.)

Wilson – Thomas Baia Jr. (jr.) and Patrick Seeley (jr.)

Contributed Photos – Rounding out the first team are Brandon Orr and Mitchell Holtz from Akron and David Bunn from Newfane.