Mustangs, Purple Eagles earn B North Division All-Star football honors

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 21 November 2014 at 12:00 am

Photo by Mike Wertman – Albion’s B North Division football All-Stars include, in front, Nathan Trembly, Gary Moore, Clayton Stanton and Trey Hart. In back are Des Blackmon, Kyle Smith, Tyler Rotoli, Dominic DiCureia and Aaron Burnside. Missing from the photo is Manny Thompson.

A dozen Medina and 10 Albion players have earned spots on the B North Division All-Star football squad.

Medina is represented on the first team by quarterback Jason Hellwig, linebacker Brett Pecoraro, defensive end Charles Beach, defensive back Ty Hrovat and utility player Devon Joy. All are seniors except Beach who is a junior.

Hellwig, a repeat selection who was also named B North co-offensive Player of the Year, completed 106 of 192 passes this season for 1,361 yards and 16 touchdowns. He finishes his three year varsity career as the Mustangs career TD passing leader with 45.

Pecoraro rushed for a team leading 1,001 yards and scored a total of 13 touchdowns. On defense, he had 53 tackles, 9.5 sacks and 3 fumble recoveries.

Hrovat caught 22 passes for 249 yards and a touchdown and made 45 tackles on defense.

Joy rushed for 371 yards and 7 touchdowns and made 30 tackles and had 3 fumble recoveries on defense.

Beach made 59 tackles and had 3.5 sacks.

Albion’s first team honorees include junior quarterback, Kyle Smith, junior wide receiver Trey Hart, senior defensive end Clayton Stanton and senior defensive back Manny Thompson.

Smith completed 35 of 67 passes for 761 yards and 10 touchdowns and also rushed for 174 yards and 3 touchdowns.

Hart caught 21 passes for 403 yards and 6 touchdowns, rushed for two touchdowns and had 40 tackles, 2 interceptions and 1 fumble recovery on defense.

Contributed Photo – Medina’s B North Division football All-Stars include, in front, Noah Banazwski, Dylan Lewis, Eric Neace, Tom Follman, Adam Cotter and Devonte Howard. In back are Ty Hrovat, Brett Pecoraro, Jason Hellwig, Charles Beach and Devon Joy. Missing from the photo is Brandon Schoolcraft.

Thompson rushed for 647 yards and 5 touchdowns and had 18 tackles and 2 fumble recoveries on defense.

Stanton made 41 tackles on defense.

The Mustangs have a trio of second team selections including senior tight end Brandon Schoolcraft, junior offensive lineman Noah Banazwski and sophomore linebacker Eric Neace.

Schoolcraft caught 13 passes for 160 adds and 4 touchdowns and Neace made 59 tackles.

The Purple Eagles quartet of second team honorees includes senior wide receiver Des Blackmon, senior linebacker Aaron Burnside, senior defensive back Dominic DiCureia and junior running back Tyler Rotoli.

Blackmon had three receiving and two rushing touchdowns on offense and 19 tackles, 1 interception and 1 fumble recovery on defense. Burnside made a team leading 82 tackles while DiCureia had 23 tackles and 4 interceptions and Rotoli 3 rushing touchdowns, 29 tackles and 1 forced fumble.

Medina’s honorable mention selections include junior wide receiver Dylan Lewis and junior linebacker Tom Follman along with senior offensive linemen Adam Cotter and Devonte Howard.

Lewis caught 29 passes for 519 yards and 5 touchdowns and Follman had a team leading 60 tackles.

Albion had senior defensive end Gary Moore and junior offensive lineman Nathan Trembly earn honorable mention.

Trembly had 51 tackles and Moore 25.