Mustangs honor the ’82 sectional title team

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 7 October 2022 at 10:58 pm

Photo by Cheryl Wertman – Highlighting this evening’s Medina Homecoming football game was the induction of the Mustangs 1982 Section VI championship team onto the John “Pinky” Loughlin Wall of Fame. Gathered here at midfield durign the pregame ceremonies are seveal players and coaches from that team. In back are Bobby Waters, Todd Flynn, David Fluellen, Charlie Hartway, Larry Stockwell and Bobby Dutcher along with coaches Bill Ossont, Dave Boice and Nick Benedetti. In front are Anthony Bloom, Ron Stork, holding picture of Buddy Arnett, and Todd Van Auker.

Contributed Photo – The 1982 Mustangs squad compiled a 9-0 record capped off by a 26-7 victory over Cassadaga Valley at Rich (now Highmark) Stadium. David Fluellen rushed for 233 yards including touchdown runs of 59, 6 and 74 yards. He also caught a 6 yard TD pass from quarterback Tom Botsford. The Mustangs locked up a berth in the sectionals with a narrow late season 7-6 division title clinching win at Newfane on a 49 yard TD run by Fluellen and a deciding extra point kick by Tom Fredericks. The Mustangs then capped off the regular season with a narrow 17-14 win over rival Albion as a 32 yard field goal by Fredericks in the fourth quarter provided the margin of victory.