Mustangs have a trio of N-O wrestling champs

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 21 January 2023 at 6:21 pm

Photos by Cheryl Wertman – Medina’s Sawyer Kingsbury works toward a win over Albion’s Mason Lynch in the 215 title bout at today’s Niagara-Orleans All-League Tournament at Albion.

Medina had a trio of individual weight class champions at the annual Niagara-Orleans All-League Wrestling Tournament held today at Albion.

Medina’s Sawyer Kingsbury claimed the 215 title with a second period pin over Albion’s Mason Lynch.

The Mustangs other two title matches were both all Medina matchups. In those bouts Dominick Callara decisioned Luke Duffins 19-7 at 110 and Conor Crandall edged Brody Fry 1-0 at 189.

Newfane closed out an N-O title campaign by garnering five individual winners including Jakob Lucinski (102), Aden Harris (118), Ayden Buttery (132), Miguel Salas (138) and Aiden Gillings (145). Lucinski, Buttery, Salas and Gillings all won by pin and Harris by decision.

Wilson had a trio of champions including Jacob Stephenson, Ben Wortkoetter (172) and William Wortkoetter (285).

Roy-Hart/Barker had a pair of champions in Luke Fay (126) and Quinn Brown (152). Fay won by major decision and Brown by decision.

Newfane, which went 5-0 during the dual match portion of the N-O season, took top team honors today with 193 points. Wilson was second with 148.5 followed by Medina 131.5, Roy-Hart/Barker 122,5, Akron 64 and Albion 54.

Check out the Hub Sports Facebook page for more pictures from today’s action.

Medina’s Dominick Callara downed his teammate Luke Duffina in the 110 final.

Medina’s Conor Crandall nipped his Mustangs teammate Brody Fry in the 189 title bout.