Champion Mustangs have seven C North Division first team All-League honorees

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 7 December 2021 at 9:29 am

Photos by Cheryl Wertman – A trio of Medina’s C North All-League honorees are, from left, Jarin Rhim, Noah Skinner and Greg Thompson.

Champion Medina has placed seven players on the first team of the C North Division All-League football squad.

Senior quarterback Xander Payne, who has been named C North Player of the Year, heads Medina’s delegation which also includes senior wide receivers Jarin Rhim and Greg Thompson, senior running back Iverson Poole, junior running back Noah Skinner, senior defensive end Joe Cecchini and junior defensive lineman Chris Johnson.

Medina Coach Eric Valley was also honored as C North Coach of the Year.

Payne passed for 1,635 yards and a school record 22 touchdowns and also ran for 417 yards and 7 touchdowns.

Rhim caught 36 passes for 494 yards and 7 touchdowns and rushed for 113 yards and 2 touchdowns. On defense, he had 2 interceptions, a fumble recovery and 20 tackles.

Thompson caught 24 passes for 494 yards and 6 touchdowns and rushed for 559 yards and 5 TDs. Defensively, he had 5 interceptions, a fumble recovery and 26 tackles.

Poole rushed for 576 yards and 10 touchdowns and caught 10 passes for 177 yards and 4 TDs. On defense he had 4 interceptions and 39 tackles.

Medina quarterback Xander Payne has been named C North Player of the Year.

Skinner rushed for 740 yards and 11 touchdowns. Defensively he had 73 tackles, 6 sacks and 2 fumble recoveries.

Cecchini made 58 tackles and had 12 sacks and 3 forced fumbles. On offense he caught 20 passes for 308 yards and 4 touchdowns.

Johnson, who was also a mainstay on the Mustangs offensive line, made 55 tackles and had 4 sacks, 1 interception and 3 forced fumbles.

Medina also had six second team honorees including senior offensive lineman Colvin Stalker, sophomore offensive lineman Roosevelt Mitchell, junior defensiove lineman Ollie Wilson, senior linebacker Zach Oliver, junior linebacker Josh Wilson and senior defensive back Hayden Woodroe.

Woodroe made 59 tackles and had 3 interceptions and a sack; Josh Wilson 37 tackles, 2 sacks and a fumble recovery; Oliver 24 tackles; Ollie Wilson 25 tackles, 2 sacks and a fumble recovery; Mitchell 10 tackles and a forced fumble and Stalker 9 tackles. Mitchell, Stalker, Ollie Wilson and Josh Wilson were also all starters on the offensive line.

The Mustangs also had a trio of Honorable Mention selections including juniors Dominic Larabee, Cayden Lilleby and sophomore Xavier King.

Akron senior quarterback Travis Fry was named C North Offensive Player of the Year and Wilson senior linebacker Xavier Fitzgibbon Defensive Player of the Year.

Fry assed for 675 yards and 10 touchdowns and rushed for 484 yards and 6 touchdowns. Fitzgibbon made 65 tackles and had 2 sacks.

Akron is also represented on the first team by junior running back Brody Hibbard, senior linebacker Jack Fowler and junior defensive back Brett Bergman.

Wilson also placed senior offensive lineman Evan Mahar, senior linebacker Chris Dispenza and senior defensive back Luke Atlas.

Newfane’s first team honorees include sophomore kicker Ben Dickenson, senior defensive end Charles LaRose, senior linebackers Jared Traverse and Brett Bucolo.

Rounding out the first team are junior running back Larry Burgin, senior tight end Justin Rojek and senior linebacker Ken Pitts from Cleveland Hill along with senior quarterback Zach Wood and senior wide receiver Mike Thomas from Tonawanda.

Final C North Standings: Medina 5-0, Akron 4-1, Wilson 3-2, Cleveland Hill 2-3, Newfane 1-4, Tonawanda 0-5.

Medina’s first team honorees also include, from left, Chris Johnson, Joe Cecchini and Iverson Poole.