Medina has 3 champions at the Fred Large Memorial Tourney; Albion, R-H/Barker 2 each

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 11 December 2021 at 5:44 pm

Photos by Cheryl Wertman – Lyndonville’s Noah Neff works toward a pin victory over Brighton’s Joey Uwimana during early round action at Lyndonville’s Fred Large Memorial Wrestling Tournament today.

Medina had a trio of individual weight class champions today at Lyndonville’s annual Fred Large Memorial Wrestling Tournament.

Dom Callara won at 102, Gavin Ciarfella at 118 and Rashawn Bloom at 126 for the Mustangs.

Callara scored a 15-0 technical fall win in the title bout over Blade Surowiec of Wayne. He advanced with a pair of quick pins of 1:03 in the quarterfinals and :48 in the semis.

Ciarfella likewise posted a 15-0 tecnical fall victory in his title bout over Vinny Chiccino of Williamson. He scored a pin of 1:16 in the quarterfinals and had a 15-0 technical fall win in the semis.

Bloom scored a 14-1 major decision in his championship bout over Aidan LeStrange of Wayne. He gained a spot in the finals by scoring pins of 1:15 in the quarterfinals and 1:41 in the semis.

Albion had a pair of champions as Jr Morales won at 138 and Alex Hafner at 152.

Morales scored a quick pin of 55 seconds in his title bout over Jack Wren of Williamson. He had a pin of 1:18 in the quarterfinals and a 13-8 decision win in the semis.

Hafner took his title bout by a technical fall score of 18-2 over Sebastian Temich of Lyndonville. He also had a technical fall win in the quarterfinals and a pin of 2:33 in the semis.

Roy-Hart/Barker also had two champions as Brett Ricker won at 160 and Zach Hill at 189.

Ricker scored a pin of one minute in his title bout over Austin Schmitt of Lyndonville. He also scored quick pins of 1:22 in the quarterfinals and :36 in the semis.

Hill pinned Maddox Stirk of Lyndonville in 3:46 in the finals. He reached the finals with a pin of 3:14 in the quarterfinals and a narrow 3-2 decision win in the semis.

Holley/Kendall had Bruce Rasmusson win at 110 with a pin of 2:22 in the finals over Christian Garver of Lyndonville.

Albion also had Ellwood Hafner (145) place second and Bryce Froman (152) and Dayne Aina (189) finish third while Medina’s Reese Senske (102) and Lyndonvilles Ty Holmes (118) both placed fourth.

In the JV Tournament, Medina had Conor Crandall win at 160 and Sawyer Kingsbury at 189 while Branden Ricker won at 152, Joel Hickman at 132 and Dan Moore at 215 for Roy-Hart/Barker.

Lyndonville’s Alex Farrell and Albion’s Jr. Morales battle during opening round action.

Riley Robinson of Holley-Kendall works against Derek Chevez from North Rose-Wolcott.

Albion’s Bryce Froman has the upper hand here over Derek Geronimo of East Rochester.