Mustangs edge past Lakemen to complete perfect 12-0 N-O League championship season

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 14 February 2019 at 8:26 pm

Photos by Cheryl Wertman – Medina’s Nate Sherman tries to put up a shot against Wilson defenders Jon Littere and Luke Bradley during the Mustangs narrow win over the host Lakemen this evening.

In a tight defensive battle, Medina trimmed host Wilson 49-43 this evening to complete a perfect 12-0 Niagara-Orleans League boys basketball championship season.

Izaiah Rhim took game high scoring honors with 18 and Nate Sherman added 14 to lead the offense for Medina which has now won the N-O title four years in a row. Tyler Chinn and Brian Fry both chipped in with 6, Vincent Montague 3 and Joe Cecchini 2 for the Mustangs.

Steve Frerichs led Wilson with 10 as Luke Bradley and Ian Evans each added 8, Jake Miller 7, Jon Littere 6 and Declan Feary and Julian Andreola 2.

Medina jumped out to a 13-8 first quarter lead as Rhim had two threes and a layup. Bradley answered with two threes to help keep Wilson close.

Medina’s Izaiah Rhim drives toward the basket as Ian Evans defends for Wilson.

Three baskets by Sherman and another three by Rhim helped keep the Mustangs up by four, 24-20, at the half. Evans had a two and a three and Frerichs a three to pace the Lakemen in the period.

Medina maintained a slender five point, 35-30, lead at the three-quarter mark as Rhim and Sherman both had a pair of baskets in the third period.

The Mustangs finally pulled away to a 12 point, 44-32, advantage by opening the decisive final period with a 9-2 run including a jumper and a three by Sherman and a layup off a turnover by Rhim.

However, the Lakemen came battling back.

Wilson put together a 7-0 run including baskets by Bradley and Frerichs and a three by Evans to cut the deficit to five, 44-39 with less than two minutes to go.

Sherman finally ended Medina’s three plus minute field goal drought with a clutch layup to make it 47-39 with 1:03 to go.

The Lakemen again pulled to within five at 46-41 on  layup by Frerichs with 47 seconds to go but could get no closer.

Medina finally put a lock on the hard fought win on two free throws by Fry and one by Chinn in the final 23 seconds for a 49-41 lead.

With the loss runner-up Wilson finishes the N-O season at 9-3.

Newfane 68, Albion 59

Newfane bested host Albion 68-59 to earn a share of second place in the final N-O standings with rival Wilson at 9-3.

Jarrett Gilson scored a season high 24 points, including 9 in the final stanza, to spark the attack for Newfane as Deuce Capen added 15 and Sam Capen and Garrett Srock 6 each.

Deyonci Farley scored 17, Kevin Hillman 11, Dylan Fox 9 and Bryce Pritchard 6 to lead Albion which finishes the N-O season at 5-7.

Newfane held leads of 19-17 after one period, 33-27 at the half and 45-37 at the three-quarter mark.

Notre Dame 69, Kendall 46

Breaking away from a 32-32 halftime deadlock, Notre Dame exploded for a 19-2 third period scoring surge to key a 69-46 victory host Kendall in the Genesee Region League season finale.

Gage MacDonald scored 17, including 15 in the second half, and Spencer Misiti tallied 15 on five threes to lead the way for Notre Dame.

Nate Warters scored 17, Derek Edick 9 and Hunter Menze 7 for Kendall.

Roy-Hart 58, Barker 47

Charlie Brigham scored 14, Charlie Bruning 10, Lance Krieger 8, Hunter Pratt 7 and Quinten Koch 5 to spark Roy-Hart (2-10) to a 58-47 win over Barker (0-12).

Preston Harris scored 16, Hunter Callen 11 and Nick Brandt 10 for Barker which trailed 24-17 at the half..

Final N-O Standings: Medina 12-0, Newfane 9-3, Wilson 9-3, Akron 5-7, Albion 5-7, Roy-Hart 2-10, Barker 0-12.