Mustangs earn B-3 All-Star football honors

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 16 November 2017 at 9:54 pm

Contributed Photo – Medina/Lyndonville’s B-3 Division football All-Star honorees include, in front, Brendan Luthart, Blaire Prest, William Braswell, Cody Crane and Ian Joseph. In back are Justice Hughes, Mason Lewis, Jalin Cooper, Izaiah Rhim and Brian Fry.

A total of 10 Medina/Lyndonville players have earned spots on the B-3 Division All-Star football squad.

The Mustangs are represented on the first team by the senior quartet of wide receiver Jalin Cooper, defensive backs Mason Lewis and Brendan Luthart and offensive lineman Ian Joseph.

Cooper had a total of 843 all purpose yards including 263 receiving with 4 touchdowns. Lewis had 23 receptions for 305 yards and 3 touchdowns and Luthart 14 catches for 152 yards and 3 TDs. On defense, Lewis had 72 tackles and 3 interceptions and Joseph 51 tackles.

Medina/Lyndonville’s second team honorees include quarterback Izaiah Rhim, linebacker Justice Hughes, wide receiver Brian Fry and running back William Braswell. All are juniors except Fry who is a freshman.

Rhim had 997 yards passing and 13 touchdowns and also 9 TDs rushing. Braswell had 661 yards rushing and 6 touchdowns and Fry 16 receptions for 221 yards and 2 touchdowns. On defense, Hughes made 43 tackles and Fry 36.

Senior linebacker Cody Crane and junior defensive lineman Blaire Prest have received Honorable Mention.