Mustangs celebrate sectional soccer title

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 18 November 2020 at 9:34 am

Contributed Photo – Medina/Lyndonville players and coaches celebrate earning a share of the Section VI Class B1 soccer title after tying host Tonawanda 2-2 in double overtime in the title contest Saturday. The sectional title is the third in the last nine years for the Mustangs who previously nipped Tonawanda 1-0 in the 2011 final and Newfane 2-1 in overtime for the 2013 crown. Head Coach Steve Luksch’s squad includes Alex Barry, Zaric Boyce, Brandon Boyce, Aiden Burczyk, Jacob Corser, Nate Dillenbeck, Zach Fike, Brian Fry, Evan Harris, Miles Hartway, Roman Heinsler, Sam Kingsbury, Dan Mandujano, Jackson Moreland, Mason Moreland, Mason Nicholson, Aidan Owczarczak, Jack Rutkowski, AJ Seefeldt, Cole Seefeldt, Russ Stephens, Jack Whipple, Ricky Wood and Sebastian Zilempe along with Anthony Moule and Casey Winiecki who were not in the picture.