Mustangs, Tigers and Hawks have winners at Medina’s Gary Gross Memorial Tournament

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 28 January 2023 at 7:49 pm

Photos by Cheryl Wertman – Medina’s Riley Tower works against Fredonia’s Dom Collazo in a first round match at Medina’s annual Gary Gross Memorial Wrestling Tournament today.

Host Medina had eight place finishers at today’s annual Gary Gross Memorial Wrestling Tournament.

Reece Senske won at 102 for the Mustangs which also had Conor Crandall (189) and Sawyer Kingsbury (215) place second, Dominick Callara (110) and Austin Seefeldt (152) third and Luke Duffina (118), Liam Castricone (126) and Breydin McEwen (285) fourth. Senske decisioned James Chase from Avon/Geneseo 5-0 in the finals.

Lyndonville had a trio of champions in Ben Doolan (145), Sebastian Temich (152) and Patrick Hargrave (160). Doolan decisioned Zach Bridenbaker from Grand Island 7-4 in his title bout. Temisch and Hargraves both went 3-0 in the round robin competition in their respective weight classes.

The Tigers also had Ty Holmes (118) place third as Christian Garver (110) and Alex Farrell (132)  fourth.

Holley-Kendall had Hunter Smith take the 285 lb. title by pinning Chis Howatt from Pioneer in 5:43 in the finals.

Holley-Kendall also had Bruce Rasmusson (118) and Noah Morehouse (160) place second, and Hunter Conner (145) and Mikey Schoonmaker (172) fourth.

Albion had Josh Bovenzi (145) place third and Mason Lynch (215) fourth.

Pioneer won the team title with 132.5 points as Spencerport (125.5), Byron-Bergen (118), Medina (117) and Lyndonville (87.5) rounded out the top five in the 11 team event.

Lyndonville’s Justin Holmes battles against Holley-Kendall’s Andrew Cole.

Lyndonville’s Raymond Borok goes up against Byron-Bergen’s Zack Brookhart.