Mustang stickmen have new coach

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 12 March 2019 at 10:01 am

Photo by Cheryl Wertman – Veteran members of the Medina lacrosse team include, in front, Caleb Boyce, Thomas Vasquez, Zach Blount and Wesley Hughes. In back are Bobby Geiger, Tim Roy, Blaire Prest, Chaise Prest. Christian Silversmith and Mitchell Silversmith.

With new Coach Todd Eick at the helm, the Medina varsity lacrosse team is prepping for the March 25 non league season opener against Iroquois.

“We’ve got a nice core of players coming back,” said Eick who takes over the varsity helm from Gordy Luthart after guiding the JV team the last few years.  “We do have some holes to fill as we lost some key players to graduation so our young guys are going to have to step up and fill those shoes.”

New Medina varsity Coach Todd Eick meets here with the Mustangs tri-captains Blaire Prest, Chaise Prest and Christian Silversmith.

Senior tri captains Chaise Prest (Attack), Blaire Prest (Defense) and Christian Silversmith (Attack/Midfielder) head the Mustangs veteran group which also includes senior Tim Roy (Attack/Middie) juniors Bobby Geiger (Defense), Wesley Hughes (Goalie), Cooper Fearby (Middie), Thomas Vasquez (Middie) and Caleb Boyce (Defense) along with sophomores Zach Blount (Attack), Mitchell Silversmith (Attack) and Robert Morehouse (Goalie).

Christian Silversmith led the Mustangs in scoring last year with 59 goals while Blount had 20 and Roy 11.

Medina’s graduation losses include midfielders Brendan Luthart (55 goals), Mason Lewis (50 goals) and DaRon Bellan (14 goals) along with defenders Ian Joseph and Luke Wilson and goalie Cody Crane.

The Mustangs went 5-3 in the D Division and 9-9 overall last spring.

After hosting Iroquois on the 25th, the Mustangs will begin Class D Division competition at home o March 27 against Salamanca.

March: 25 Iroquois, 5 p.m.; 27 – Salamanca, 5:30 p.m.; 30 – at Newark, 11 a.m.
April: 2 – at Brockport, 5 p.m.; 3 – at Wilson, 5 p.m.; 8 – at Pal-Mac, TBA; 10 – Gowanda, 5:30 p.m.; 12 – at Salamanca, 5:30 p.m.; 15 – at Eden, 5 p.m.
May: 1 – Wilson, 5 p.m.; 3 – Akron, 5 p.m.; 6 – at Gananda, 5:30 pm.; 8 – at Gowanda, 5:30 p.m.; 10 – Amherst, 5:30 p.m.; 13 – at Akron, 5 p.m.; 15 – at Lockport, 5 p.m.