Find us on Facebook

Mustang netters successfully rebuild to extend N-O reign

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 23 June 2014 at 12:00 am

Photo contributed by Bruce Landis – Members of the Niagara-Orleans League champion Medina High tennis team included, in front, Corey Strickland, Zach McAdoo, Kevin Capstick, Addison Zavitz, Nick Bogan, Vassilios Bitsas and Matt Hann. In the middle row are Michael Griffin, Ryan Fox, Brandon Harris, Meghan O’Keefe, Tori Schicker, Michael Cardone, Lucas Cook and Xion Baes. In the back row are Coach Chris Horgan, Tom Horgan, Ben Howell, Kristian Snyder, Nate Pace, Carson Zgoda, Brian Bogan, Tristan Sanders, Chris Keller and Nick Dieter.

Successfully rebuilding from the loss of four starters to graduation, the Medina High tennis squad posted a perfect 12-0 record this spring to capture a third straight Niagara-Orleans League championship.

Senior Ben Howell and freshman Kristian Snyder, who both moved up a notch in the lineup to first and second singles respectively, led the way for the Mustangs.

Senior Nate Pace manned the third singles spot most of the season and also saw some action at doubles.

The Mustangs doubles teams were led by the duo of junior Nick Bogan and sophomore Tristan Sanders at first doubles.

Junior Chris Keller and sophomore Carson Zgoda manned the second doubles spot most of the season while junior Tom Horgan teamed up with several players at third doubles including juniors Nick Dieter and Austin Owens and freshman Michael Cardone.

Howell and Snyder both earned first team N-O All-League honors going undefeated while Pace, Bogan and Sanders were second team picks and Zgoda was an honorable mention selection.

“We had a terrific season. All our players did a fantastic job in either moving up a spot or stepping into the starting lineup,” said Coach Chris Horgan. “We had real flexibility and our kids practiced really hard which was a real key to our success. We worked on specific things as a team and that raised their skill level.”

A narrow 3-2.5 win at third place Albion (8-4), along with an equally close 3.5-2 road win over runner-up Wilson (9-3), keyed Medina to the third straight N-O title.

“Having the guys step like that was tremendous,” said Horgan who used as many as 15 different players in the lineup during the season. “We got outstanding play for every match at every position. They were a pleasure to coach.”

Final N-O Standings

Medina 12-0, Wilson 9-3, Albion 8-4, Barker 7-5, Akron 4-8, Newfane 2-10, Roy-Hart 0-12.