Mustang netters complete 12-0 N-O championship season

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 28 May 2014 at 12:00 am

Capping off a second straight perfect 12-0 league championship season, Medina defeated host Newfane 5-1/2 this afternoon in a Niagara-Orleans makeup tennis match.

Medina, which has now won three straight N-O titles and 33 league matches in a row, was led by straight set victories by the singles trio of Ben Howell, who blanked Andy Swift 6-0 6-0, Kristian Snyder, who shut-out Savannah Jonathan 6-0, 6-0 and Nate Pace, who downed Blake Wilson 6-0, 6-2.

Carson Zgoda and Chris Keller also scored a 6-0, 6-2 win over Jeff Hamm and Jeremy Ribbeck at second doubles for Medina which also had the first doubles duo of Brian Bogan and Tristan Sanders win by forfeit.

Newfane took the third doubles match as Bailey Godwin and Delany Wasik downed Tom Horgan and Meghan O’Keefe 6-1, 6-4.