Mustang matmen down Lakemen

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 13 January 2016 at 12:00 am

Albion tops Akron; Newfane bests Barker/Roy-Hart

Photos by Cheryl Wertman – Medina’s Elijah Sones works toward a win over Wilson’s Mike Durow during the Mustangs victory over the visiting Lakemen this evening.

Gaining league victory No. 1 on the season, Medina (1-3) bested visiting Wilson (0-4) 54-28 this evening in a Niagara-Orleans wrestling match.

Pins by Joe Gates (126), in 4:41, Austin Cox (132), in 37 seconds, and Elijah Sones (170), in 1:46, highlighted the victory for Medina which also benefitted from six forfeit wins.

Jake Sanborn (120), Claytin Taylor (152), Mike Durow (170) and Matt Morgan (195) all registered pins for Wilson which also got a major decision win by Drew Westmoreland (145).

Albion 42, Akron 27
Pins by Preston Flugel (120), Tim Wells (138), Israel Florentino (160) and Sam Slick (170) highlighted Albion’s 42-27 victory over visiting Akron.

Blake Aina (145) also had a technical fall win and Tom Drake (195) and Jordan Wolcott (126) decision victories for the Purple Eagles.

Ethan Pequeen (182), Ethan Schlees (220) and John Fiebelkorn (132) all notched pins for Akron.

Albion and Akron are now both 2-2 in N-O action.

Medina’s Sydney Brown works against Wilson’s Claytin Taylor.

Newfane 46, Barker/Roy-Hart 27
Defending champion Newfane downed visiting Barker/Roy-Hart 46-27 in a key battle of the unbeatens.

Improving to 4-0, Newfane was sparked by pins by Charlie Johnstone (132), Julian Nixon (138), Paul Dunbar (152), Cyrus Simmons (182) and Jake Kubala (220).

Eli Eaton (160) and Kirk Fay (285) both had pins and Cameron Swick (170) a technical fall win for Roy-Hart which slips to 3-1.

N-O Standings

Newfane 4-0, Barker/Roy-Hart 3-1, Albion 2-2, Akron 2-2, Medina 1-3, Wilson 0-4.

Alexander 41, Lyndonville 36
Only three matches were decided on the mat as Alexander topped visiting Lyndonville 41-36 in a Genesee Region League contest dominated by a dozen forfeits.

Garren Bayne had a decision win for Lyndonville.