Mustang JVs win to cap 6-2 season

Contributed Story Posted 24 October 2015 at 12:00 am

The JV Medina/Lyndonville football team capped off a successful season with a 42-7 win over visiting Tonawanda on Friday night.

Ronnie Koonce rushed for 139 yards and two touchdowns in addition to throwing a touchdown to Johnny Salone.

Salone also had a 53 yard punt return for a touchdown, while Daemon Shatara and Nick Kepner each added rushing touchdowns.

Koonce, Salone, and Diago Russell each ran for a two point conversion to round out the scoring for the Mustangs.

The win brings the Mustangs record to 6-2, matching last years result. The Mustangs posted victories over Wayland-Cohocton, East Aurora, Barker/Roy-Hart, Alden, Albion, and Tonawanda. Both losses were decided during the final minute in games against Riverside and Depew.

Koonce replaced last year’s starter and fellow freshman Izaiah Rhim, who was called up to the varsity squad, at quarterback. Koonce led the Mustangs offense through the air and ground; throwing for 1,040 yards and 15 touchdowns, while adding 793 yards and 14 touchdowns on the ground.

Salone, also a freshman, made 36 receptions for 748 yards and 12 touchdowns.

Brendan Luthart hauled in two touchdown passes and Trenton Jones caught one. Shatara, Kepner, William Braswell, and Iszon Richardson added one rushing touchdown a piece.

Salone also led the Mustangs defense, a unit which allowed just 12.8 points per game, finishing with 58 tackles and making five interceptions. Ian Joseph chipped in with 52 tackles, Justice Hughes made 48, sophomore Mike Eckerd added 30. Luthart and Rickie Pitts both contributed 2 interceptions.

The Mustangs roster included sophomores Kyson Bellan, Thomas Culmo, Mike Eckerd, Joe Gates, Zack Hill, Jesse Iniguez, Trenton Jones, Ian Joseph, Brendan Luthart, Jorge Phillips, Iszon Richardson, Elijah Sones; freshman William Braswell, Brandon Heschke, Justice Hughes, Zach Johnson, Nick Kepner, Michael Kleinhans, Ronnie Koonce, Blaire Prest, Chase Prest, Rickie Pitts, Juan Rivera-Nava, Tim Roy, Diago Russell, Johnny Salone, Daemon Shatara, Chase Stinson, Evan Wicox; and 8th grader Bobby Geiger.