Mustangs Hall of Fame inductions highlight Block M banquet

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 18 June 2022 at 9:27 am

Contributed Photos – Inducted into the Medina Mustangs Athletic Hall of Fame at the Block M banquet Thursday were Stormi Kruger, Kevin Furness and Chris Horgan.

Three new members were inducted into the Medina Mustangs Hall of Fame  highlighting the Block M banquet on Thursday.

The new inductees included former longtime tennis Coach Chris Horgan, Kevin Furness (Class of 1981) and Stormi Kruger (Class of 2013).

Horgan guided the Medina tennis squad for 17 years from 2001-2017 during which time his Mustang netters won seven Niagara-Orleans League championships.

Furness played three years of varsity football, basketball and baseball. He quarterbacked Medina to division and sectional football titles his senior year. The Mustangs also won N-O basketball and baseball titles his senior year.

Kruger was a three year varsity starter on the soccer and softball teams and also competed in varsity wrestling for three years.

The banquet also saw seniors Xander Payne and Dakota Alexander presented with the Babe Ruth Award.

Payne competed in football, swimming and baseball and Alexander in field hockey, swimming and track.

Kathy Valley received the Fats Piedmont Fan of the Year award.

The Medina Mustangs Sports Boosters were presented with a $1,000 donation by the 1980 MHS football “Michael Mustang” squad from funds raised during last October’s Celebration of Champions event.

The Pony Awards were to the following student-athletes as listed by sport:

Football – Colvin Stalker; Boys Soccer – Zach Fike; Girls Soccer – Lily Jo Carpenter; Field Hockey – Dakota Alexander; Volleyball – Amaya Cleveland; Cheer – Lisa Shafer; Golf – Dylan Lonnen; Boys Cross Country – Arian Cayea; Girls Cross Country – Tessa Biessinger.

Boys Basketball – Joe Cecchini; Girls Basketball – Aleigha Mitchell; Unified bowling – Gracelin Mahnke; Winter Cheer – Aurora Owczarzak; Boys Swimming – Isaac Pace; Girls Swimming – Sophia Goyette; Wrestling – Rashawn Bloom

Unified basketball – Matthew Kennedy; Boys track – Bryson Costich; Girls track – Madelynn Rutledge; Baseball – Zach Fike; Softball – Gianna Greco; Lacrosse – Noah Skinner; Tennis – Joe Lederhouse

Seniors Xander Payne and Dakota Alexander received the Babe Ruth Award.