Mustang Band wraps up season and looks ahead to next year

Contributed Story Posted 9 June 2014 at 12:00 am

Provided photo – The Medina Mustang Band’s student staff for 2014-2015 pose for a picture after a banquet Friday at the Sacred Heart Club.

MEDINA – The 43rd annual Medina Mustang Band Banquet and Awards Ceremony was held at the Sacred Heart Club on Friday with band members and Boosters recognized for another award-winning season.

The following were honored:

Dean Morgan and Mike Dreyfus with the “Harry L. Dinkle” award. It was established to recognize someone who is not a Booster officer but who volunteers a great deal of personal time and effort to the band and the Boosters to make the program a success.

Cameron Morgan received the NYSFBC Scholarship and Kelsey Evoy was awarded the Mustang Band Booster Service Scholarship.

Outstanding Rookie went to Kody Leno, Sarah Cochrane, Naomi Slingerland and Kyrah Baes.

Most Improved went to Chase Jenkinson, Emma Baldwin, Ben Zakes and Alexis Neuman.

Most Valuable went to Marc Vanderlaan, Jenna Brien, James Soha and Krystal Kerstetter.

Director Awards were given by Mr. Steele to Brielle Lederhouse and Charles Beach, and by Mrs. Pritchard to Shelby Martin and Caelan Holland.

The Alfred Hartway Drum Major Award was started in 1968 by his family.  Mr. Hartway was a bus driver and always involved with the band. This year’s recipients were Cameron Morgan, Matt Prawel and Jenna Brien.

The Joseph C. McCain Award is given to a junior and senior to recognize their dedication and commitment to the band and reflects the ideals of its founder. This year’s recipients are Matt Prawel (senior) and Derek Donley (junior).

The highlight of the evening was the announcement of the 2014-2015 student staff:

Drum Major: Chris Keller; Assistant DM: Derek Donley and Brian Bogan; Flute Section Leaders: Krista Nellist and Briana Bellan; Clarinet SL: Bailey Allen; Saxophone SL: Brian Bogan; Mellophone SL: Kristian Snyder; Trumpet SL: Nick Dieter; Trombone/Baritone SL: Kyle Herman; Tuba SL: Ryan Webber; Pit SL: Megan Furness; Band Managers: Tristan Sanders, Jon Carlo Gonzales, Cody Taylor, Tyler Soha and Corey Strickland; Attendance Officer: Tessa White; Uniform Managers: Addison Zavitz and Andrea Toussaint; Secretary/Librarian: Amanda Lunden/Tristan Sanders; Colorguard Managers: Allison Hibbard, Marissa Pecorella and Alexis Neuman; Colorguard Captain: Krystal Kerstetter; Head of percussion: Derek Donley; and Back Field Conductor: Briale Lederhouse.

The Fall Field Show for 2014 will be a portrayal of “Miss Saigon” Work begins immediately as the students learn their music before Band Camp in August.  Fundraisers also begin this summer with 4-H Parking in July, and a car wash and chicken BBQ in August.