Mustang band wins many first place awards at Gorham pageant

Posted 4 June 2015 at 12:00 am

Provided photo – Medina Mustang Band members are pictured with some of the band’s awards from the Gorham Pageant of Bands on May 29-30.

Press Release
Medina Mustang Band

MEDINA – The Marcus Whitman Central School District held its 54th Gorham Pageant of Bands May 29-30. This pageant represents an opportunity for students in the various band programs to come together and perform.

Twelve schools in total participated in the various components including concert, twirlers, percussion, color guard, jazz and parade. Of these, seven participated in parade.

In Jazz Band, Medina Junior High Class A earned 1st place with a score of 89.5. In High School Class A, Medina placed first with a score of 97.5 followed by Albion with 95.

Medina’s Specialty award for jazz was a Middle School soloist, Kody Leno, a trombonist. In High School, the jazz band received awards for best rhythm, brass and woodwinds sections.

Medina was the only competitor in Twirling and took first place with a score of 93.5.

In Color Guard, Medina earned first place in Scholastic A with a score of 96.4. Medina earned first place in Percussion Standstill with a score of 97.

Concert band competition concluded with Medina Middle School earning first place with a score of 167.5 and the High School with 191.5.

The parade down Main Street included seven schools. In High School Class A, Medina took first place with a score of 96 while Albion in the High School Open Class took first place with a score of 87.5. Medina also earned Class Champion and Grand Champion.

The Robert Steele Award was started in 1994 and named after Jim Steele’s father who was the band director in Gorham (Marcus Whitman) for 37 years. It is given to band directors, administrators, boosters who promote music education and are a strong role model and supporter of their school’s music program. This year’s recipient was Shawn Halquist, band director at Brockport High School.

The Medina Mustang Band and all of its components are under the co-direction of Jim Steele and Cheri Pritchard. Friday is the Band Banquet and Awards Ceremony and marks the official end of the 2014-2015 season.