Mustang Band picks student leaders for next year

Posted 7 June 2015 at 12:00 am

Students at annual banquet are honored for 2014-15 season

Provided photo – This photo shows the leader of the Medina Mustang Band for 2015-16. The group includes Drum Major – Amanda Lunden; Assistant Drum Majors – Andrea Toussaint & Tristan Sanders; Flute Section Leader – Andrea Toussaint; Clarinets – Alex Peters; Saxophones – Madison Holland; Mellophones – Kristian Snyder; Trumpets – Abby Griffin & Kyla Leno; Trombones/Baritones – Corey Strickland; Tuba – Ryan Webber; Front End Ensemble – Megan Furness; Band Managers – Naomi Slingerland, Tyler Soha, Jadiel Flores-Medina, Nick Schaefer and Victoria Schicker; Attendance Officer – Jadiel Flores-Medina; Uniform Manager – Meghan Allen; Secretary/Librarian – Kyla Leno & Meghan Allen; Percussion – Tristan Sanders; Colorguard Managers – Grace Fuller, Leann Schneider, Shianne Sullinger; Colorguard Captains – Brittanie Goodin & Alexis Neuman.

Press Release, Medina Mustang Band

MEDINA – The 44th annual Medina Mustang Band Banquet and Awards Ceremony was held Friday at the Sacred Heart Club. It was an evening of awards and reflection on the many accomplishments in the 2014-2015 year.

Co-directors Jim Steele and Cheri Pritchard emceed the event. The Booster organization was credited for their continued dedication and commitment to this organization. Outgoing officers were recognized and thanked for their help as well as the incoming officers.

The “Harry Dinkle Award” was established to recognize someone who is not a Booster officer but who volunteers a great deal of personal time and effort to the band and the Boosters. This year Mike Dreyfus was granted this award for the second year in a row. He was also the co-drum major for the Memorial Day parade based on votes from the community.

Instructional staff were recognized: Twirler instructor Roxanne Morgan; Drill & marching & instrument instructor Jeanette Sheliga; Assistant Band Director & Pit Instructor Katie Toub; Percussion Instructors Jeff Pask & TJ Gray; Color Guard Instructor Diana Baker; Visual Design & Colorguard Instructors Vinnie Monacelli & Kristen Costa. Other staff not in attendance were Music Arranger Jerry Kelsey; Music Arranger Joe Organisciak; and Percussion Instructors Joe Guadagnino and Brian King.

The NYS Field Band Conference Scholarship was given to Chris Keller with the Mustang Band Service Scholarship given to Krista Nellist, and the Orleans County Music Educators Association scholarship awarded to Emma Baldwin.

The Mustang Band marches down Main Street during the Memorial Day parade.

Medina also sent approximately 22 students in the elementary level, 32 students in the middle level and 35 students from the high school to the NYSSMA Solo Festival and overall they achieved scores ranging from Good, Outstanding, Excellent, A and A+.

Outstanding Band Member Awards were given in three categories: Outstanding Rookie went to Miranda Zelazny, Trenton Crews, Jada Draper and Avery Vanderwerf. Most Improved went to Nick Schaefer, Kali Schrader, Noah Pencille and Kaela Grosslinger. Most Valuable went to Abigail Griffin, Madison Holland, Derek Donley and Krystal Kerstetter.

Band Director awards were given by Jim Steele to Brielle Lederhouse and Kyrah Baes. Cheri Pritchard gave awards to Jenna Moore and Karina Bellan.

The Alfred Hartway Drum Major Award was started in 1968 in honor of a man who was a bus driver and always involved with the band. This year’s recipients were Chris Keller, Derek Donley and Brian Bogan.

The band performs during the Memorial Day parade on Main Street near the railroad tracks.

The Joseph C. McCain award was started in 1967 and given to a junior and senior to recognize their dedication and commitment to the band and who reflects the ideals of its founder. This year’s recipients are Tyler Soha and Kyle Herman.

Attendance Awards were given to students who have perfect attendance in the fall or in the spring or both. Service awards were given to students who had between 6 to 12 seasons of participation in the program. Graduating seniors were presented their medallions.

The Junior Prologue was given by Andrea Toussaint and the Senior Epilogue by Chris Keller. A slide show of the year’s events was prepared by Mike Dreyfus with the assistance of Greg Nellist, Joe Granchelli and many parents who submitted pictures.

The Fall Field Show for 2015 is “Illusions.” This is a magic show on a football field. The music is more difficult and therefore the first practice is June 23rd. There are 133 students signed up for the fall season, which is the largest in the past three years. Band Camp will be Aug. 10-14.