Six multiple winners highlight the annual N-O All-League track meet

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 17 May 2023 at 9:01 pm

Photos by Tom Rivers: Albion’s Kwame Riley crosses the finish just ahead of Bryson Costich of Medina and Logan Wolfe of Wilson in the 4×100 relay. Albion’s other relay runners included Cincere Lowe, Nick Harling and Auston Johnson.

Six individual event multiple winners highlighted the action at the annual Niagara-Orleans All League track meet held this afternoon at Wilson.

Ben Dickinson of Newfane won four events.

Heading that quintet was Newfane’s Ben Dickinson who was a quadruple winner in the 400 (:53.84), Long Jump (20-6 3/4), High Jump (5-10) and Triple Jump (43-0 3/4).

Barker’s Mason Allee Castro doubled in the 800 (2:09.04) and 1600 (4:44.86) as did Wilson’s Jaydan Ruble in the 3200 (10:39.85) and Steeplechase (10:46.84), Newfane’s Kylie Bowman in the 1500 (5:21.76) and 3000 (11:10.11), Akron’s Sophia Jones in the 100 (:13.38) and 200 (:27.53) and Wilson’s Madelaine Schultz in the 100 Hurdles (:16.17) and 400 Hurdles (1:11.20).

Albion’s quartet of Cincere Lowe, Kwame Riley, Nick Harling and Auston Johnson won the 400 Relay (:45.70). Riley also captured top honors in the 100 (:11.71).

Medina’s foursome of Gabe Mack, Jackson Moreland, Collin White and Mason Moreland won the 1600 Relay (3:47.66). Mason Moreland also won the 200 (:23.68). The Mustangs also had Kaedon Cleveland win the 110 Hurdles (:17.47).

Roy-Hart’s quartet of Ronan Klug, Josiah Rodriguez, Calvin Fournier and Andrew Waters won the 3200 Relay (9:07.48).

The Rams also captured both Pentatalon events with wins by Jack Johnson (2024 points) and Samantha Albright (1525 points).

Roy-Hart also had Julia Miles win the High Jump (4-8) and Nadia White the Triple Jump (33-2).

Barker also got wins from Brad Cantrell in the 400 Hurdles (1:07.83), Zachery Santarsiero (Shotput (42-0 1/2), Keira Dalton (Discus (95-1) and Lydia Samson in the Steeplechase (8:20.99).

Akron also had Jack Holland win the Discus (122-0), Madigan Regan the 800 (2:38.60), Isabelle Jones the Shotput (33-1) and Madison Brege the Pole Vault (8-0). The Lady Tigers foursome of Regan, Sophia Janik, Emily Snyder and Kailie Szczygielski also took the 3200 Relay (10:21.72).

Wilson’s quartet of Madelaine Schultz, Isabella Thrush, Marisa Schultz and Addison Elia won the 400 Relay (:53.24).

Newfane also had Jaxon Dembrowski win the Pole Vault (11-3), Cat Ersing win the 400 (1:03.66) and Ainsley DeBaise the Long Jump (16-0). Ersing also teamed up with Anna Chunco, Stephanie Chunco and Hayden Kopp to win the 1600 Relay (4:17.22).

(Left) Madelaine Schultz of Wilson won the 400 meter hurdles with a personal best of 1:11.20. (Right) Kylie Bowman of Newfane and Emma Evans of Barker battled in the girls 3000 meter run. Bowman won the race in 11:10.11, just ahead of Evans at 11:12.36.

Jackson Moreland is thrilled after crossing the finish line as the anchor in Medina’s winning 1600 meter relay team that also included Gabe Mack, Collin White and Mason Moreland. Behind him are Keegan Foxvog of Wilson in second and Finn McCue of Albion in third.

(Left) Lydia Samson of Barker won the girls 2000 meter steeplechase in 8:20.99. (Right) Ronan King runs the anchor leg for Roy-Hart’s winning 4×800 meter relay team that also included Josiah Rodriguez, Calvin Fournier and Andre Waters.

Mason Allee-Castro of Barker and Jaydan Ruble were next to each other for the first three laps of the boys 1600 meter run. Allee-Castro pulled away in the last lap and won in 4:44.86 with Ruble coming in second. Allee-Castro also won the 800. Ruble won the steeplechase and the 3200.

Sophia Jones of Akron won the girls 100 meter dash in 13.38. She also took first in the 200 meters.