Medina has two N-O wrestling champions; Albion and Roy-Hart/Barker one each

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 22 January 2022 at 7:18 pm

Photos by Cheryl Wertman – Medina’s Dominick Callara works toward a pin over Roy-Hart/Barker’s Joe Jopp in the 110 lb. title bout at this afternoon’s Niagara-Orleans All-League Tournament at Albion.

Medina had two individual weight class champions crowned at this afternoon’s annual Niagara-Orleans All-League wrestling tournament as host Albion and Roy-Hart /Barker each had one.

Medina had Dominick Callara capture the 110 lb. title and RaShawn Bloom claim the 118 lb. crown.

Callara scored a pin of 3:01 over Joe Jopp of Roy-Hart/Barker in his title bout. He advanced to the finals with a pair of quick sub minute pins of 15 seconds in the quarterfinals and 59 seconds in the semis.

Bloom scored a quick pin of 1:36 in his title match over Aiden Harris of Newfane. He likewise scored a pair of sub minute pins in the earlier rounds of 34 seconds in the quarterfinals and 38 seconds in the semis.

Medina’s RaShawn Bloom battles with Newfane’s Aiden Harris for the 118 lb. title.

Dayne Aina captured the 215 lb. title for Albion as he decisioned Xavior Fitzgibbon of Wilson 9-5 in the finals. He advanced to the finals with three quick pins of 47 seconds in the pre-quarter, 20 seconds in the quarterfinals and 1:01 in the semis.

Brett Ricker of Roy-Hart/Barker won the 160 lb. title with a decision win over Conor Crandall of Medina.

Champion Newfane led the way with six individual weight class winners including Brayden Kellison-Neglia (102), Ayden Buttery (126), Aidan Gillings (138), Adam Huntington (145), Simon Lingle (189) and Charles Larose (285). Gillings earned the tournament’s Most Outstanding Wrestler award.

Rounding out the list of champions were Jacob Stevenson (152) and Ben Wortkoetter (172) both from Wilson.

Medina also had Reese Senske (102) and Gabe Casanova (285) place second and Noah Skinner (215) third.

Albion had Jr. Morales (138), Ellwood Hafner (134) and Alex Hafner (152) place second and Andrew Uderitz (118), David Rosario (138), Blake Stornelli (160) and Cade Wolcott (172) all place third.

Zach Hill (189) placed second for Roy-Hart/Barker.

Newfane which captured the regular season N-O title with a 5-0 record, took top team honors at the tourney with 202.5 points. Albion was second with 153 followed by Wilson 150, Medina 145, Roy-Hart/Barker 85 and Akron 62.

Albion’s Dayne Aina works toward a win in the 215 title bout over Wilson’ s Xavior Fitzgibbon.

Roy-Hart’s Brett Ricker works toward a win over Medina’s Conor Crandall in the 160 lb. title bout.