Medina/Lyndonville quartet earns N-O All-League soccer honors

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 15 November 2015 at 12:00 am

Photo by Mike Wertman – Medina/Lyndonville’s first team Niagara-Orleans All-League soccer squad honorees include, from left, Kristian Snyder, Tyler Ames, Colm Cooper and Brian Anderson.

A quartet of Medina/Lyndonville players heads the first team of the annual Niagara-Orleans All-League boy soccer squad.

The Mustangs are represented by senior forward Brian Anderson, senior midfielder Colm Cooper, junior defender Kristian Snyder and senior goalie Tyler Ames.

Anderson, who had 9 goals and 5 assists, Cooper 3 goals and 3 assists and Snyder 5 goals and 5 assists are all repeat honorees.

Contributed Photos – Champion Newfane’s first team honorees include Clayton Cleveley, Trevor Moreland and Chad Gilson.

Champion Newfane has placed the trio of senior forward Chad Gilson and sophomore midfielders Trevor Moreland and Clayton Cleveley. Gilson and Moreland are both repeat selections.

Gilson had 23 goals, Moreland 16 goals and 21 assists and Cleveley 6 goals and 8 assists.

Wilson is represented by sophomore forward Cesar Carlin, a repeat honoree who had 19 goals this season, and junior defender Josh LiPuma who had 2 goals and 7 assists.

Akron also had a pair of first team honorees in senior midfielder Bryan Whitbeck, a repeat honoree who had 17 goals and 5 assists, and senior defender Erik Kreher.

Contributed Photos – Erik Kreher and Byran Whitbeck represent Akron on the first team and Donato Rosato is Albion’s honoree.

Rounding out the first team is Albion junior defender Donato Rosario. A three year varsity player, Rosario anchored the Purple Eagles defense from his sweeper position.

Medina/Lyndonville is represented on the second team by senior midfielder Greg Husung who had 6 goals and 6 assists.

N-O All-League Soccer Squad

First Team
Forward – Chad Gilson (Newfane, Sr.), Cesar Carlin (Wilson, So.), Brian Anderson (Medina/Lyndonville, Sr.)
Midfield – Trevor Moreland (Newfane, So.), Bryan Whitbeck (Akron, Sr.), Colm Cooper (Medina/Lyndonville, Sr.), Clayton Cleveley (Newfane, So.)
Defense – Donato Rosario (Albion, Jr.), Kristian Snyder (Medina/Lyndonville, Jr.), Josh LiPuma, (Wilson, Jr.), Erik Kreher (Akron, Sr.)
Goalie – Tyler Ames (Medina/Lyndonville Sr.)

Second Team
Forward – Tristan Olszweski (Akron, Sr.), Josh Weigel (Akron, Sr.), Julian Maue (CSAT, Sr.)
Midfield – Reilly O’Lay (Wilson, Sr.), Mateo May (Newfane, So.), Tyler Jones (Akron, So.), Greg Husung (Medina/Lyndonville, Sr.)
Defender – Alex Lydell (Akron, Sr.), Nick Schultz (Newfane, Sr.), Jonah Trank (Wilson, Sr.), Andrew Villella (Roy-Hart, Sr.)
Goalie – Stephen Lyman (Wilson, Sr.)

Honorable Mention
Akron – Cody Blasko, Marcus Kenline, Ethan Martin
Albion – Nick Reed, Dylan Bader, Brad Sanford
CSAT – Juan Verdejo, Carlos Quinones, Dan Erkert
Medina – Vassilios Bitsas, Josh Klotzbach, Justin Morgan
Newfane – Max Weber, Matt Vogt, Jeremy Ribbeck
Roy-Hart – Zach Srock, Alonzo Sager, Jamason Johnson
Wilson – Cody Secor, Tyler VanBuren, Brayden Skobjak