After a busy year, Medina Mustangs honor band members

Posted 10 June 2013 at 12:00 am

Provided photo – The student staff for the 2013-14 Medina Mustang Band are pictured after Friday’s awards banquet.

Press Release
Medina Mustang Band Boosters

MEDINA – The Medina Mustang Marching Band honored band members on Friday during a banquet. In addition to honoring students, the band and Mustangs Boosters honored Larry Meyer with the “Harry L. Dinkle Band Booster Award.”

Instructional staff were recognized including Roxanne Morgan (Twirlers), Jeanette Sheliga (Drill, marching instructor and instrument repair), Katie Toub (Assistant Band Director and Pit instructor), Jeff Pask (Percussion instructor), Diana Baker and Lindsey Little (Colorguard Instructors), Vinnie Monacelli (Visual Design and Colorguard instructor), Kristen Costa (Colorguard Design and instructor), Jerry Kelsey and Joe Organisciak (Music Arrangers), Joe Guadagnino and Brian King (Percussion instructors).

Band members were recognized for their achievements.The NYSFB Conference Scholarship was given to Maggie Laszewski. The Mustang Band Booster Memorial Scholarship was given to Matt Stanton, while the Mustang Band Booster Service Scholarship was presented to Rene Miller.

Medina’s Winterguard, Dance Team and Twirlers were recognized for their first place standing at the Gorham pageant.

Once again Medina students participated in NYSSMA solo festival in April 2013 in Penfield. The elementary school sent 22 students, the middle school sent 32 and there were 35 from the high school. Overall these students received scores ranging from Excellent, Outstanding, A-, A, A+ and two students, Jimmy Jo Soha and Cameron Morgan received perfect scores of 100.

Outstanding Band Member awards were given in three categories. Outstanding Rookie to T. Kiebala, M. Johnson, B. Zakes and J. James. Most Improved went to J. Phillips, M. Bellan, J. Houseman and C. Donley. Most Valuable went to Z. Roeseler, C. Gardner, C. Morgan and C. Doherty.

Director’s Awards were given to James Wisniewski and Emma Fox by Mrs. Pritchard and to Tyler Soha and Kelsi LaSpada by Mr. Steele.

The Alfred Hartway Drum Major Award was presented to Drum Major MaggieLaszewski, and Matt Stanton and Zach Roeseler, both assistant drum majors.

The Joseph C. McCain Award was given to Adam Wengryzcki (a junior) and Maggie Laszewski (a senior).

Students were also recognized for perfect attendance and service. Graduating Seniors were given their medallions.

Another highlight of the evening was the announcement of the 2013-2014 student staff:

Drum Major – Cameron Morgan; Assistant DM – Matt Prawel and Jenna Brien; Flute Section leader – Samantha Wendling; Clarinet SL – Shannon Allen; Saxophone SL – Jenna Brien; Mellophone SL – Kelsey Evoy; Trumpet SL – Marc Vanderlaan; Low Brass SL – Barry Rogenmoser; Pit SL – Hannah Pask.

Band Managers – Adam Wengryzcki, Cody Taylor, Jon Carlo Gonzalez, Tessa White and Emilee Austin; Attendance officer – Julie Brien; Uniform Manager – Addison Zavitz and Andrea Toussaint; Secretary/Librarian – Bailey Allen and Tristan Sanders; Colorguard managers – Victoria Rice and Krystal Kerstetter; Colorguard Captain – Melissa Oosterling and Head of Percussion – James Soha.

The Fall Field Show for 2013 will be “The Pursuit of Gold” about the Olympics. Work begins immediately as the students learn their music before Band Camp in August. Fundraisers also begin this summer with 4-H Parking in July, and Car Wash and Chicken BBQ in August.