Medina trustees, mayor take the oath, make appointments

By Tom Rivers, Editor Posted 30 September 2020 at 12:38 pm

Photos by Tom Rivers: Medina Mayor Mike Sidari, center, holds the Bible while Village Trustees Marguerite Sherman and Tim Elliott takes their oaths of office on Monday evening at the Medina Senior Center.

MEDINA – The village’s newly elected officials took the oaths of office on Monday – about six months later than planned.

Mayor Mike Sidari and Trustees Marguerite Sherman and Tim Elliott were all re-elected on Sept. 15. The village election was pushed back from March 18 due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

The new terms will last about 18 months instead of the usual 2 years.

Mayor Mike Sidari is sworn in as mayor while his wife Brenda holds the Bible.

Sidari is an active member of the Medina Fire Department. He is retired as the food service administrator for the Orleans Correctional Facility in Albion.

Sherman is a special education teacher at Medina. Elliott is co-owner of Brushstrokes Studios in Medina and other small businesses.

Sidari said the village is fortunate to have several active committees and volunteers spearheading projects, from a new dog park, upgraded skate park, overhaul to Pine Street Park, and many significant private investments.

On Monday the Boxwood Commission shared ideas to improve the cemetery, possibly with a pet cemetery section and also a columbarium, a structure with niches to hold funeral urns.

Sidari said the Commission is another group of citizens committed to making Medina a better place. The Commission’s proposal will be considered by the board in the coming months.

The mayor said some village committees need to reorganized. The board approved the following appointments:

• Parks Committee: Jessica Marciano, Kimberly Kennedy and Chris Goyette.

• Tree Board: Jacob Hebdon, Bob Sanderson, Nick Mroz, Lisa Tombari and Kathy Blackburn, who will be a temporary member of the Board while it gets restarted.

• Zoning Board of Appeals (terms through March 31, 2023): David Berry and Reinhard Rogowski.

• Planning Board (terms through March 31, 2025): John Dieter and Kathy Blackburn.

• Boxwood Cemetery Commission (terms through March 31, 2023): Gabrielle Barone and Jacob Hebdon.

• Tourism Committee (term through March 31, 2022): James Hancock.

Mayor Sidari also assigned trustee to different committees and urged them to be in contact with department heads at least once a week.

Trustees Owen Toale, Tim Elliott, Todd Bensley and Marguerite Sherman were assigned the following committees: Fire/Code, Toale and Elliott; Police/DPW, Sherman and Bensley; Employee Relations, Toale and Bensley; Clerk-Treasurer, Sidari; Town of Ridgeway, Bensley; Medina Area Partnership, Elliott; Boxwood Cemetery, Bensley; Tourism Committee, Sherman; Town of Shelby, Sherman; Orleans County, Toale; Joint Recreation, Toale and Elliott; and Waterfront Development Committee, Elliott.

Other appointments included:

• Deputy Mayor: Owen Toale

• Fair Housing Officer: Marguerite Sherman

• Village Historian: Todd Bensley

• Clerk-Treasurer: Deborah Padoleski

• Deputy Clerk-Treasurer: Jada Burgess

• Registrar: Deborah Padoleski

• Deputy Registrar: Jada Burgess

• Village Attorney: Matthew Brooks

Return to top