Medina trio heads N-O All-League tennis team

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 17 June 2017 at 7:26 am

Photo by Mike Wertman – Champion Medina is represented on the first team of the Niagara-Orleans All-League tennis squad by this trio of, from left, Nick Bogan, Kristian Snyder and Mike Cardone.

A trio of players from champion Medina heads the first team of the annual Niagara-Orleans All-League tennis squad.

Representing Medina are seniors Kristian Snyder, Mike Cardone and Nick Bogan who manned the three singles spots for the Mustangs which went 12-0 to capture the N-O crown for the fifth time in the last six years.

Contributed Photos – Albion’s Matt Kovaleski, left, and Roy-Hart’s Patrick Sheelar

Snyder is a four-time first team honoree. Cardone was a second team selection last year.

Rounding out the first team are Akron seniors Nate Chubb and Jake Meyer, Albion sophomore Matt Kovaleski and Roy-Hart junior Patrick Sheelar along with the Wilson duo of senior Joey Hecko and junior Kyle Lyon.

Chubb, Hecko and Lyon are all repeat selections while Kovaleski was a second team honoree last year.

Albion led the second team with three selections including seniors Owen Foos and Emilie Barleben and sophomore Connor McQuillan.

Contributed Photos – Akron’s Nate Chubb, left, and Jake Meyer

The second team also includes Medina senior Kyla Leno, Barker senior Nick Fazzolari, Wilson senior Mike Pazik and Newfane junior Zach Lundy along with the Akron duo of senior Cierra Janis and junior Brandon Meek.

Medina also had a trio of Honorable Mention selections including juniors Andrew Fuller and Toby Kiebala and sophomore Ray Paull.

Wilson likewise had three Honorable Mention honorees including senior Alex Couturier, freshman Mia Olear and 7th grader Joey Moot.

Contributed Photos – Wilson’s Joey Hecko, left, and Kyle Lyon

The Honorable Mention honorees also include Roy-Hart junior Madigan Lang, Barker senior Jake Meister, Newfane senior Michele Schultz, Albion senior Donato Rosario and Akron 7th grader Will Chubb.

Final Standings: Medina 12-0, Akron 9-3, Albion 8-4, Wilson 7-5, Barker 3-9, Roy-Hart 3-9, Newfane 0-12.