Medina to host N-O All-League wrestling tournament Saturday

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 30 January 2014 at 12:00 am

A team champion and 15 individual weight class champions will be crowned Saturday as Medina hosts the annual Niagara-Orleans All-League wrestling tournament.

Competition is scheduled to begin at 9 a.m. with the finals slated for approximately 3:30 p.m.

The race for the team championship is virtually a two team race as Newfane brings a 5-0 dual match record into the tournament while defending champion Akron is close behind at 4-1. Albion, Medina and Barker/Roy-Hart are all at 2-3 and Wilson 0-5.

Akron’s bid for a second straight title is led by a quartet of returning N-O champions including Noah Karczewski, Matt Fiebelkorn, Garrett Schult and Adrian Ross.

The other returning champions in the field include Medina’s Brennen Callara and Albion’s Aaron Burnside.