Medina to host 20th annual N-O vs. G-R Exceptional Senior basketball twin bill Friday

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 6 March 2019 at 9:35 am

Photos by Cheryl Wertman – Albion’s Bryce Pritchard and Holley’s Maddy Marsh will be two of the players taking part in the annual Niagara-Orleans League vs. Genesee Region League Exceptional Senior doubleheader Friday at Medina.

The 20th annual Niagara-Orleans League vs. Genesee Region League Exceptional Senior basketball doubleheader will be held on Friday at Medina.

The girls’ game will be at 5 p.m. followed by the boys’ contest at 6:45 p.m.

The N-O holds a 12-7 lead over the G-R in the series in both the boys and girls competition.

Last year the N-O girls won a 59-58 thriller to snap a two-year G-R win streak. The G-R boys won for the second year in a row by a score of 73-59.

The N-O girls roster includes Maddie Williams and Sarah Cochrane from Medina, Brylie Hapeman, Lexi Wolck and Kirsten Struble from Albion, Meghan Washington from Roy-Hart, Gabby Baker from Barker, Megan Knoll from Newfane, and Darion Jonathan, Elise Leeds, Helena Hill and Kayilah Tallchief from Akron.

The lineup for the G-R girls squad includes Alecia Hinkson and Anna Lewis from Lyndonville, Maddy Marsh from Holley, Jenna Regan from Kendall, Callie McCaulley and Stevie Wilcox from Notre Dame, Maddie Howard from Elba, Tori Mandel and Shelby Carlsen from Oakfield-Alabama, Maci Riggs and Haley Alvord from Alexander and Kacey Pearce and Taylor Gadd from Attica.

The N-O boys lineup includes Izaiah Rhim and Vincent Montague from Medina, Bryce Pritchard from Albion, Charlie Brigham, Charlie Bruning and Lance Krieger from Roy-Hart, Nick Brandt from Barker and Jake Miller, Steve Frerichs, Jon Littere and Ian Evans from Wilson.

The roster for the G-R boys’ team includes Zach Johnson and Nathan Poler from Lyndonville, Nate Warters and John Rath from Kendall, Jon Boyce from Elba, Jordon Ludwig from Pembroke, Chris McClinic and Ryan Davis from Alexander, Spencer Misiti from Notre Dame, Anthony DiQuattro from Byron-Bergen and Dawson Nelson and Devon Henderson from Attica.