Medina stickmen earn All-Star honors

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 12 June 2017 at 8:17 am

Photo by Mike Wertman – Medina’s Class D Division lacrosse All-Stars include, in front, Coby Albone and Ian Joseph. In back are Brendan Luthart, Jake Cotter and Mason Lewis.

Five Medina High players have earned spots on the Class D Division lacrosse All-Star squad.

Senior Jake Cotter along with juniors Brendan Luthart and Mason Lewis have been named to the first team while senior Coby Albone and junior Ian Joseph are second team honorees.

Cotter scored a team high 69 goals and added 12 assists this season which also saw him become the Mustangs career goal scoring leader. He finished with a career total of 199 goals and 43 assists.

Luthart scored 55 goals and had a team high 34 assists raising his career totals to 108 goals and 65 assists.

Lewis scored 31 goals and added 30 assists to up his career totals to 50 goals and 72 assists.

Albone had 34 goals and 6 assists and Joseph, a defender, had 2 goals.