Medina retains N-O golf championship

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 9 October 2019 at 8:04 pm

Contributed Photos – Medina locked up a third straight Niagara-Orleans League title at the All-League meet held today at Willowbrook. Shown here displaying the championship plaque are, from left, Coach Evan Giacomini, Ian Wagner, Aidan Paul, Trevor Luthart, Dylan Lonnen and Rileigh Culver.

Medina locked up a third straight Niagara-Orleans League golf championship today with a second place finish at the annual All-League Tournament held at Willowbrook.

Individual champion Ian Wagner from Medina.

Medina, which compiled a perfect 12-0 record during the dual match portion of the N-O season, brought a six point lead into the All-League tournament over runner-up Wilson which went 9-3 during the regular season.

Wilson took top honors at the All-League meet with 463 points followed by Medina 485, Albion 508, Newfane 515, Akron 518, Roy-Hart 518, and Barker 526.

Those results earned Medina the N-O crown with an overall season total of 30 points followed by Wilson 25, Albion 21, Akron 14.5, Barker 10.5, Newfane 6 and Roy-Hart 5.

Medina’s Ian Wagner captured the All-League Tournament individual championship for the fourth year in a row with a round of 78. He edged out his teammate Aidan Paul who shot a 79.

Rounding out the top 10 finishers, in order, were Patrick Seeley (Wilson), River White (Akron), Nathan Meyers (Wilson), Jake Harris (Barker), Patrick Ricker (Albion), Sam Capen (Newfane), Drew Caldwell (Albion) and Lilly Sanborn (Wilson).

The tournament was also highlighted by a hole-in-one registered by Newfane’s Dalton Harlach on the 12th hole.