Medina quintet heads N-O All-League team

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 2 July 2021 at 7:26 am

Photo by Cheryl Wertman – Medina’s first team Niagara-Orleans All-League honorees include, from left, Zach Fike, AJ Seefeldt, Xander Payne, Alex Doval and Brian Fry.

Undefeated (12-0) champion Medina has placed five players on the first team of the annual Niagara-Orleans All-League baseball squad.

The Mustangs are represented by the senior middle infield combination of shortstop Brian Fry and second baseman AJ Seefeldt along with senior outfielder Alex Doval, junior pitcher Xander Payne and sophomore pitcher Zach Fike.  Fry has also earned N-O Player of the Year honors.

Fike hit .467 with 31 RBI, Fry .463 with 15 RBI, Seefeldt .298 with 25 RBI, Doval .333 with 13 RBI and Payne .341 with 10 RBI.  Fry’s hits included 12 doubles 3 triples and a home run and Fike’s 8 doubles, 1 triple and 2 homers. On the mound, Fike had 8 wins and 77 strikeouts and Payne 5 wins and 49 strikeouts.

Photo by Cheryl Wertman – Roy-Hart’s first team honorees include, from left, Gavyn Boyle, Noah Stern and Thomas Russo IIII.

Runner-up Roy-Hart which went 10-2, has placed three players including senior catcher Noah Stern, junior outfielder Gavyn Boyle and sophomore pitcher Thomas Russo III.

Boyle hit .438 with 6 RBI, Stern .387 with 20 RBI and Russo .377 with 12 RBI. Russo also registered 78 strikeouts on the mound.

Akron, which finished in third place at 8-4, also has a trio of honorees including senior infielder Mitchell Holtz, senior outfielder Adam Mietz and junior infielder Jack Klodzinski.

Holtz hit .500 with 9 RBI, Mietz .458 with 18 RBI and Klodzinski .424 with 8 RBI. Holtz also earned 4 wins on the mound and had 27 strikeouts.

Contributed Photos – Akron’s first team honorees are, from left, Adam Mietz, Mitchell Holtz and Jack Klodzinski.

Rounding out the first team is Wilson senior outfielder Michael Miller. He hit .472 and had 7 doubles, 1 triple and 8 RBI.

Medina is represented on the second team by junior third baseman Joe Cecchini and sophomore pitcher Aiden Paul.

Contriibuted Photo – Michael Miller, Wilson

Albion has placed junior infielder Tyler Gibson and sophomore catcher Javon Jones; Roy-Hart junior infielder Ryan Mettler and freshman infielder Brayden Hy and Newfane senior infielders Cade Littman and Tyler Oudette.

Completing the second team are Akron senior infielder Jake Mazza, Barker junior outfielder Jaret Black and Wilson sophomore catcher Noah Vernye.

The Honorable Mention selections, listed by school, are as follows:

Albion – Alex Gibson (Sr.) and Bailey Blanchard (Sr.)

Barker – Aidan Voss (Soph.)

Medina – Austin Mosher (Sr.) and Corey Saj (Sr.)

Newfane – Hunter Jurek (Sr.), Brady Harrington (Jr.) and Gehrig Wilson (Jr.)

Roy-Hart – Hunter Babel (Sr.) and Jon Conley (Jr.)

Wilson – Tyler Johnston (8th) and Conner Ernest (Fr.)