Medina nips Akron to clinch tie for N-O baseball championship

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 8 May 2015 at 12:00 am

Photos by Cheryl Wertman
Justin Morgan (3), who drove in what proved to be the game winning run, congratulates Shane Freeman (1) after he crossed home plate with Medina’s second run during the Mustangs title clinching 3-2 win over Akron at Vets Park this evening.

Ending a 20 year title drought, Medina edged past Akron 3-2 at Vets Park this evening to clinch at least a tie for the Niagara-Orleans League baseball championship.

Snapping a 2-2 deadlock, Medina scored the game winner in the bottom of the sixth inning on a clutch two-out, RBI single by Justin Morgan. A walk and an error set up the tally.

Medina pitcher Jason Hellwig then quickly closed out the Mustangs first title clinching victory since 1995 by retiring Akron in order in the top of the seventh on a flyout to Lawson Fenton in left field, a strikeout and a line out to Tyler Ames at shortstop. Hellwig allowed only 5 hits and struck out 7 on the night.

"It’s a real special moment," said Medina Coach Eric Hellwig. "We’ve got just a great group of guys who have been together since they were eight years old. We worked them hard but they stuck with it and they responded. I couldn’t be prouder of them."

Medina third baseman Kyle Herman waits for the throw as Akron’s Steve Borowczyk slides into third as Tigers Coach Greg Bell tells him to slide.

Earlier, Medina scored once in the third on an RBI single by Kyle Herman and once in the fifth on a single by Shane Freeman and a fielders choice play off the bat of Josh Scroger.

Akron tallied once in the second on a single by Connor Riggs and later briefly tied the contest at 2-2 with a run in the sixth on a fielders choice play following a single by Steve Borowczyk.

However, Medina answered right back with the game and title clinching run in the home half of the sixth on Morgan’s second hit of the night.

Medina is now 10-2 in N-O action and Akron 5-7.

Jason Hellwig delivers a pitch for the Mustangs during the title clinching victory.