Medina netters post key win over Akron to clinch tie for N-O title

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 12 May 2017 at 9:49 pm

Medina clinched at least a tie for a second straight Niagara-Orleans League tennis title by downing host Akron 4-1 1/2 this afternoon.

Medina, which has now claimed the N-O crown 5 of the last 6 years, improves to 10-0 while runner-up Akron slips to 8-2.

Wins by Kristian Snyder at first singles, 7-6, 6-3 over Nate Chubb, and at second singles by Mike Cardone 2-6, 6-2, 7-5 over Jacob Meyer, led the way for Medina.

The Mustangs also got wins from the first doubles team of Kyla Leno-Andrew Fuller, 7-5, 6-2 over Cierra Janis-Will Cubbb, and by the second doubles duo of Toby Kiebala-Ray Paull, 6-4, 6-3 over Alex Warren-Dustin Earle.

Akron took the third singles as Brandon Meek outlasted Nick Bogan 6-2, 3-6, 6-4 and the third doubles as the duo of Eliza Papke-Morgan Wdowka won a 6-3, 4-6, 7-5 marathon over Brandon Harris and Jacob Houseman.

In another N-O match, Wilson improved to 6-4 with s 5 1/2-0 win over Newfane (0-11).

Joey Hecko, Kyle Lyon and Max Faery all registered singles wins for Wilson which also got doubles victories from the duos of Alex Courturier-Mike Pazik, Joey Moote-Mia Olear and Rebecca Connors-Alyssa Smith.

Holley 4, Pembroke 1
Holley improved to 5-4 in Genesee Region League competition with a 4-1 victory over Pembroke.

Derek McArthur won at first singles and Dylan McKay at third singles for Holley.

The Hawks also got wins from the doubles teams of Aaron Strathearn-Cheyenne Palmer and Steve Morgan-Dalton Thurley.