Medina netters hand Akron first loss

By Mike Wertman, Sports Writer Posted 18 May 2018 at 8:14 pm

Avenging an earlier loss (4 1/2-1), Medina handed champion Akron its first Niagara-Orleans League tennis loss of the season this afternoon by a margin of 3-2 1/2 at Akron.

A come-from-behind three set win by the second doubles team of Haylee Seefeldt and Andrew Houseman, 3-6, 6-0, 6-4 over Maggie Leeds and Harry Fitzgerald, provided the margin of victory for Medina.

The Mustangs also got wins by Ray Paull at second singles, 6-1, 6-4 over Brendan Meek, and by the first doubles team of Toby Kiebala and Kody Leno, 6-3, 6-4 over Morgan Wdowska and Skyler Earle.

Akron got wins from Nate Chubb at first singles, 6-0, 6-2 over Andrew Fuller, by Will Chubb at third singles, 6-0, 6-0 over Mark Barcena, and by the third doubles team of Shannon Miller and Sara Hoefler 6-1, 6-1 over Jacob Houseman and Sophia Cardone.

Medina improves to 7-4 with one match remaining while Akron finishes the season at 11-1.

Albion duo wins N-O Doubles Tourney

The Albion High duo of Matthew Kovaleski and Victor Benjovsky captured top honors at the annual N-O Doubles Tournament held on Thursday at Medina.

Kovaleski and Benjovsky came-from-behind to defeat the Wilson team of Joey Moote and Kyle Lyon 4-6, 6-1, 6-4 in the finals.

In the semifinals, Kovaleski and Benjovsky defeated the Roy-Hart duo of Patrick Sheelar and Evan Birkemeier 7-5, 4-6, 6-2 while Moote and Lyon downed the Medina duo of Andrew Fuller and Ray Paull 6-4, 7-5.

Both the Albion and Wilson duos advance to next week’s Section VI Tournament.

Notre Dame 3, Kendall 2

Notre Dame evened its Genesee Region League record at 3-3 by edging past Kendall 3-2.

Wins at the second and third singles positions by Zach Babcock and Stone Watkins led the way for Notre Dame while Nate Warters won at first singles for Kendall.