Medina Mustangs take 2nd at state championships

Staff Reports Posted 2 November 2015 at 12:00 am

Provided photo  – Medina students are recognized at Sunday’s state championships. The group includes, from left: Alexis Neuman (Guard captain), Andrea Toussaint (assistant drum major), Amanda Lunden (drum major), Tristan Sanders (assistant drum major) and Brittanie Goodin (Guard captain).

SYRACUSE – The New York State Field Band Conference held its 42nd Annual Championship Show on Sunday at the Carrier Dome in Syracuse, and the Medina Mustang Band finished second in its class.

Medina competed with six schools in the SS1 class. Medina’s score of 91.20 only trailed East Syracuse Minoa, which took first with 91.65, a mere .45 difference.

Band Director Jim Steele commented that regardless of the outcome, they all hold their heads high having given a great performance to remember this season. There are 52 bands competing and only six bands go home as State Champions. All of the students are champions in the eyes of the staff and boosters as we have all become better people, musicians/guard members, friends and family through this process, Steele said.

Throughout this process starting with band camp, the band has had many highs as well as a few lows, but the bottom line is that the band is a family and family sticks together through thick and thin, Steele said.

The New York State Field Band Conference was formed on Feb. 6, 1972 and while competitions were held since then, the first championship show was held Nov. 2, 1974. The championships have been at the Carrier Dome since 1980.

There are six classifications of schools based on school population, history of past placement in competitions, number of staff members, their experience and past success, along with the age and experience of the band members.

While Medina has 130 students in the marching band in grades 7-12, 35 of the band members are rookies.

Medina has been competing in this conference since 1976 and over the years the school has won the championship 13 times.

Other first place winners on Sunday include: LS3-West Seneca; LS2-Jamestown; SS3-Roslyn; SS2-Central Square; National-Victor.