Medina Mustang Band hosts 50th annual awards banquet

Provided photo: The 2022-2023 student staff is pictured during the band’s banquet on Monday at the Sacred Heart Club.

Posted 9 June 2022 at 3:36 pm

Press Release, Medina Mustang Band Boosters

MEDINA – On Monday the Medina Mustang Band Boosters hosted their 50th annual Band Banquet and awards ceremony at the Sacred Heart Club.

The dinner was catered by Zambistro. Special guests included Mark Kruzynski, district superintendent; Michael Cavanagh, the high school principal; and Board of Education members Arlene Pawlachuk, Jennifer Buondonno and Debbie Tompkins; and Jonathan Seiler, who started and funded the Steele Family Scholarship since 2016.

Booster Officers were acknowledged and recognized for their countless hours of volunteer time and dedication to help this program succeed. These include Mindy Kenward, president; Julie Granchelli, VP; Kelly Allen, treasurer; Holly Roush, secretary; Lynn Woodruff, Student Funds manager; Michelle Wright, Uniform & Chaperone chair; Kathy Dreyfus, Publicity; Shawn Callard, Transportation; and Stacey Silker & Meghan Green, delegates.

The Harry Dinkle award was established to recognize someone’s hard work and loyalty to the program and this award was given to Michelle Wright.

Instructional staff included Anna Oakes and Kara Brown as color guard instructors; Steve House and TJ Gray as percussion instructors along with Joe Guadagnino, Brian King, Mark & Leslie Rider; Rachel Trillizio, Tiffany Organisciak & Terry Steele as pit instructors; Assistant Band Director Becky Botsford and Diana Baker.

The NYSFBC Scholarship was awarded to Kaylee Lacey. The Mustang Band Booster Service Scholarship was awarded to TJ Burgess. The Steele Family Award was established in January 2016 by Jonathan Seiler and is awarded to a senior who has given his or her best to the program. This year’s recipient is Emma Wagner.

The Joseph C. McKain award is given to a junior and a senior who have demonstrated dedication and commitment to the band program. Mr. McKain was the band director for over 30 years and was single handedly responsible for establishing the program in 1967. This year’s recipients are TJ Burgess (Senior) and Seagan Majchrzak (Junior).

The Alfred Hartway Drum Major award was started in 1968 in loving memory of Hartway who was a school bus driver and avid supporter of the program. This award was given to Kalyee Lacey (drum major), and Assistant Drum Majors Megan Zakes and TJ Burgess.

Recognition was given to the students who participated in the 2022 Varsity Winterguard: Ava Chambers, Madison Owens, Kiana Cleveland, Kaiana Gardner, Malloree Rinker, Madelyn Lewis, Gabby Flores-Medina, Sara Swart, Kayleigh Wright, Abi Wright, Emily Chambers, Lillian Wilson, Neveah Farewell, Raelyn Baker and Olivia Kroening. Diana Baker and Anna Oakes were recognized for their long hours and hard work with the guard and Mark Rider for designing the show.

Outstanding Band Member awards were given in 3 categories: Outstanding rookie awards went to River Jones (brass), Austin Beutler (woodwinds), Emily Geiger (percussion) & MacKenzie Poynter (guard).

Most Improved went to Logan Trillizio (brass), Natalie Mahnke (woodwinds), Nick Reese (Perc) and Sara Swart (guard).

Most Valuable went to Cameron Kenward (brass), Dana DeVera (Woodwinds), Gabe Mark (perc) and Gabbie Flores-Medina (guard).

Director’s awards were given by Ms. Baker to Lillian Wilson; by Mrs. Botsford to Austin Beutler and by Mr. Steele to Kira Lake.

Each student who held a position in the 2020-2021 band was given a plaque with their name on it.

Varsity Band Letters were handed out to students who completed one season to 12 seasons.  Every graduating senior was given their medallion. The Junior Prologue was given by Gabe Mark and the Senior Prologue by TJ Burgess.

The new student staff for the 2022-2023 season are: Mia Hobbs (drum major), Gabe Mark & Seagan Majchrazk (asst. drum majors), Henry Rigerman & Ella Dahlhaus (flute), Dana DeVera (clarinet), Brooke Moden (Saxophone), Seagan Majchrzak (mellophone), Michael Chisler (trumpet), Emma Herbert (low brass), Paige Dix (front end ensemble), Bailey Clare (head band manager), Band Managers – Lillian Wilson, Caiden Class & Alex Balaban; Marissa Brigham (uniforms); Kayleigh Wright (secretary librarian); Color guard managers – Abi Wright, Sara Swart;  Color guard Captains – Gabbi Flores-Medina & Aries McMurray; Gabe Mark – Head of Percussion.

This was Jim Steele’s last year with the band as he will be retiring the end of June. Matt Jaeger will now be the High School Marching Band teacher/director. The 2022 Fall show is “Take to the Skies” and band camp is Aug. 15th to 19th.