Medina Marching Band honors students after season, names leaders for next year

Photo from Medina Band Boosters: This photo shows the new staff for the 2024-2025 season.

Posted 4 June 2024 at 9:56 pm

Information courtesy of Kathy Dreyfus, publicity chair for Medina Band Boosters

MEDINA – The Medina Band celebrated the 2023-2024 season at the band banquet on Monday at the Shelby Fire Hall and catered by their staff.

Special guests included Dr. Mark Kruzynski, district superintendent; Michael Cavanagh, high school principal; and Board of Education members, Debbie Tompkins and Jennifer Buondonno.

Booster officers were recognized for their countless hours of volunteer time and dedication to the program. These include Crystal Elliott, president; Heather Jackson, vice president;   Holly Roush, treasurer; Michelle Wright, secretary; Becky Rinker, student accounts;  Mindy Kenward, chaperone chair  and past president; Jen Lenhart & Misty Reese, uniform chair; Kathy Dreyfus & Janine Farley, publicity; Jason Clare, transportation; Paul Greean & Shirley Kepner, delegates. Holly Roush will be stepping down and Diana Baker will be the new treasurer. Nick Hartman will now be in charge of transportation.

The Harry L. Dinkle award recognizes a person’s dedication to the program and this year’s recipient is Jen Lenhart.

Instructional staff include: Percussion – Michael Denise; Color Guard – Melissa Jaeger, Kara Brown, Molly Jaeger & Katie Crooks; Pit Instructor – Tiffany Organisciak; Visual Instructor –  Ray Jones: Music Arranger & Instructor – Joe Organisciak; Assistant Band Directors – Kyla Leno & Andrea Busch; Percussion Arranger – Steve House; Visual Design – Tim Moshier.

Student Awards

  • NYSFBC Scholarship – Alex Balaban
  • Mustang Band Service Scholarship – Madisynn Stanton
  • Steele Family Award – Alex Balaban
  • Joseph C. McKain Award – Ryder Jones & Emma Jacobs
  • Alfred Hartway Drum Major Award – Alex Balaban & Caiden Class.

Outstanding Band Member Awards were given in 3 categories

  • Outstanding Rookie – Charlotte McGrath (brass), Grace Keppler (ww), Adler Class (perc), and Madison Hamilton (guard)
  • Most Improved – Shonn Effner (brass), Adelynne Lacy (ww), Aidyn Jackson (perc), and Mackenzie Poynter (guard)
  • Most Valuable – Cameron Kenward (brass), Caiden Class (ww), Emma Jacobs (perc), and Natalie Herbert (guard)

Director Awards:  Teagan Balaban, Carmen Stalker and Logan Trillizio.

Band members were recognized for the number of seasons they participated and the various positions they held.

Student staff were named for the various sections that they will be responsible for. The Drum Major is Mackenzie McGrath and Assistant Drum Majors are Ryder Jones and Riley Tompkins.

The Junior Prologue was given by Riley Tompkins and the Senior Epilogue by Alex Balaban and Caiden Class.

While the 2023-2024 season is coming to a close the 2024-2025 is already starting with rehearsals scheduled for June.